We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rideau Heights Inn oozes quality near or at the top of any motel we have ever stayed at in this price range.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rideau Heights Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rideau Heights Inn to your Saves list
Rideau Heights Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   72 Rideau Heights Dr., Ottawa, Ontario K2E7A6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Rideau Heights Inn oozes quality near or at the top of any motel we have ever stayed at in this price range.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed at this Motel for 6 consecutive nights. It far surpassed our expectations. Spread over a beautiful site with towering pines, we were immediately impressed on arrival by the reception staff...and as the days passed by all staff. The room was spaciously welcoming...good solid bed...comfortable furniture...excellent shower and washroom facility...satellite TV from a new digital set...and internet that worked fast and without fuss. Each morning gratis coffee "good" muffins...and newspapers from Toronto and Ottawa are available gratis in the Reception area. The most impressive highlight was the consistent high level of daily effort and energy the staff team put into ensuring our room remained as clean and spotless as the first day we first moved in. We highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
32
42
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night and we were really surprised as to how well maintained and clean the room was. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The motel property was beautiful. Great location...Tim Hortons just down the road. Although it is not a necessary stop in the morning because the complimentary tea/coffee and muffins were great. We look forward to a return, this time with our kids...I would definately recommend this motel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Rideau Heights Inn last week for a one night stay in a standard double non-smoking room. Check in was efficient - very nice front desk clerk. The lobby has vending machines for small snacks and drinks. Also, the large map of the Ottawa area was very helpful. We were able to browse brochures from local businesses. We ended up finding a local pizzaria with free delivery (snow made for poor visibility... we didn't want to leave the property again until morning), and had supper ordered in.

The room was basic (Mini fridge, TV, hair dryer, etc.). Some complaints: Heat was not working... room was pretty chilly all night. Spiderwebs in the corner. Bathroom's shower head was very old - more of a mist than a proper stream of water. Takes a long time to rinse soap off. We even found someone else's leftovers in the mini-fridge. Not appealing.

One plus: Motel provided shampoo and soap in a dispenser in the shower - very convenient.

In the morning, check out was a disaster. Clerk was very rude. Threatned additional unauthorized charged to my credit card is there were any damages to the room. Ok, we're young travellers, but that doesn't mean we're irresponsible. Sidewalks in front of the rooms were cluttered with slippery snow.

Overall, for the $100.00/night that we paid, we weren't expecting much, but we were still disappointed. Again, if you're looking for basic one-night accomodations, this may be somewhere to consider (if you're a low maintenance traveller), but I would not recommend it for any extended stays. There are a variety of other budget accomodations in the area (at least 3 other motels on Prince of Wales St - the main road just off Rideau Heights Dr.). I would suggest trying one of those.

  • Liked — Convenient location just off of main road. Parking right outside of room.
  • Disliked — Rude lady at check out.... What a joke!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVtravelBUG, Manager at Rideau Heights Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2008
Good Day Travelers,

To add some balance to this review.

The guest was using the motel linen to clean their car the morning of their departure. When the guest checked out she was told that if we could not remove the black stains that they would be charged for the linen. We take great pride in providing our guests clean, quiet, and comfortable accommodations.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We have stayed here twice, once last year and then this year to drop off our daughter at school. It is a plain-jane motel, however, it is clean and you can tell they try hard. There is a small fridge in the room (no freezer) so you can store a few things. It is what it is - a clean place to stay for a night of two. The grounds are beautiful, almost like a park in the city. It is close to everything. Muffins and coffee are available in the morning. Not luxurious, but a bite to carry you over. If you expect luxury accommodations, don't stay here, but it is perfect for us.

  • Liked — Location, and drive up to the room
  • Disliked — Very little
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

For those who have transportation into Ottawa this is a perfect location. Not far from the Rideau River and parks. The setting of the motel is very nice. It has been renovated so it looks up to date.

The staff were very pleasant and willing to assist us.

Transportation is a necessity because it's a bit out, but not very far to drive into the heart of Ottawa [just a few minutes actually]. For those who prefer a quieter setting this is a great place and a good cost as well.

They provide muffins in the morning, which we gladly took along for a morning snack.

  • Liked — Close to Ottawa - but not too close.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

We stayed at the Rideau Heights Inn (motel) for two nights. The price was good for those on a budget or at least I believe that to be a fair price. We paid $217 w/ tax included.

As for the amenities, we had a fridge (no freezer in it so that was a negative point for me), coffee maker (thermos type), hair dryer. It had internet access as well though is seems to be through a proxy.

The motel also provided coffee and muffins for breakfast. The outside of the building was also nice. They have mature trees with patio sets in the middle of the garden. It's very peaceful and serene. If you happen to take a moment to sit out there, you can listen to the robins and watch them feed.

Another bonus, for all you coffee addicts like myself, there's a Tim Horton's just up the road. So, it's not too far to drive to get your mug of coffee.

The staff are polite and pleasant. We enjoyed our stay very much and are staying there again in a few weeks.

Happy Travels!

Lisa B. Winnipeg, MB

  • Liked — Location and price.
  • Disliked — The fridge didn't have a freezer.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

We were extremely pleased with our first experience at Rideau Heights Inn. The office staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was excellent.....and so clean. We were totally pleased with our whole experience....clean, quiet, fast internet connection, and a lovely breakfast of coffee and muffins. We will be staying there on future trips to Ottawa....and recommend it very highly.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rideau Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Heights Inn

Address: 72 Rideau Heights Dr., Ottawa, Ontario K2E7A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rideau Heights Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rideau Heights Inn is a short drive to the downtown area, along which you will discover the historical Rideau Canal and the heart beat of Ottawa. In the other direction you will be pleased to know we are also a short 15 minute drive to the Ottawa International Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rideau Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Heights Hotel Ottawa
Rideau Heights Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rideau Heights Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.