We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic yet convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rideau Heights Inn

Save Saved
You added Rideau Heights Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rideau Heights Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   72 Rideau Heights Dr., Ottawa, Ontario K2E7A6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CAD98 (CAD)
Ranked #24 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rustic yet convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Rideau Heights Inn for two nights. I was a little concerned when I showed up in the office to everything covered with painter's cloths and no one around however quickly learned that the owner was just around the door preparing for the next days' breakfast. I cannot, in the 50 some years I have been staying in 5-star hotels and 3-star motels ever had a bed as comfortable as the one at the Rideau Heights Inn. They have just finished a makeover of all the rooms and they are spacious and well appointed. One recommendation I would have for them is that they need to change their shower heads! The luxury of the bed is a complete opposite for the old style shower head that feels like needles coming out of the wall. Also found that when I went to take a bath at 11:00 pm that I could not get really hot water and wonder whether the water tanks are set on a set-back thermometer to conserve energy which is great normally but this was a cold, rainy night and I really wanted a hot bath! The water temp the next day was perfect.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room right on the parking lot and it was good except for one of our neighbours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
33
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this motel on the recommendation of local friends whom we were visiting. It is easy access if your visit is to the south side of Ottawa near Prince of Wales Drive. The room was small but clean, with a very comfortable king-size bed. Natural ventilation was minimal. There is a small fridge and a large flat-screen TV with a large package of channels, including many specialty channels. The bathroom was tiny with no towel racks. The security lock on the door did not work (the bolt seemed misaligned with the hole in the door frame). The complementary breakfast consists only small cereal boxes and muffins. The Wi-Fi seemed slow. It's price is lower than most major chains in Ottawa, but higher than some Mom & Pop places. The check-out process was slow and cumbersome considering they had already swiped our card when we arrived. Nonetheless we'll probably return because of its location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The room was good and seemed clean. The TV was a good-sized flat screen with a fair number of cable channels.

The bathroom was small with floor space the width of the toilet to step out of the shower.

We dealt with two good sized spiders and saw at least one other bug that we didn't get.

The coffee was weak and the muffins, cereal, etc. were very basic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This establishment is located away from the downtown area of Ottawa, near the airport. The grounds are clean and well kept. There are a number of eating establishments close-by but not within walking distance. Unfortunately, there is was no microwave provided in the room, so there is no way to re-heat leftovers from a restaurant, or in our case, a delivered pizza. (which was from Milano's and was excellent by the way. Delivery menus available in the Inn Office).
All staff we dealt with were friendly, courteous and professional. Information they provided regarding eating and shopping in the area was very helpful.
The room was very clean and and spacious. I liked the layout of the toilet and shower being in a separate room from the bathroom sink, hair dryer, and extra large mirror.
The included continental breakfast was satisfactory, but it should be noted that there is no eating area in the lobby. Trays are provided to take your breakfast selections to your room.
Not a problem during nice weather, but not so sure about inclement or cold weather, although the walk to the Lobby from the rooms is covered.
Judging by the number of cars in the parking lot, the place was quite full of guests, but we never heard any extraneous noise during our two night stay.
All in all, a very pleasant stay, and we are already booked in to return again this September.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Visiting our granddaughter we chose here as it was close to her.
Very clean and the bed was so comfy best we have ever had, will be staying here again on our next visit.
Only down side the room next door had their AC/Heating fan on which vibrated through to our room and was quite noisey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you are looking for a good clean room in the south of Ottawa at a reasonable price this is a good choice! It's not a Delta but nicely put together very pleasant setting and the staff are very amiable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were in Ottawa for the last weekend of Winterlude. The hotel was priced well for what it provided; not a 'swanky' place to stay but the room was clean and comfortable. Coffee in your room and our room had a bar fridge that we could store some essentials in. The complimentary continental breakfast was good and what you would expect - coffee, tea, juice, pastries, muffins, small boxes of cereal, milk, etc. We took advantage of it while there for the two mornings and it was worthwhile.
The drive to Ottawa is just a couple of minutes and it is close to the bay at the end of the Rideau Canal so you can skate into town if you wish.
Staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
The WiFi worked perfectly on my iPad2 and was included in the price. We were right next to the office so I cannot comment on its range.
We plan on booking again when we return for a visit in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rideau Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Heights Inn

Address: 72 Rideau Heights Dr., Ottawa, Ontario K2E7A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rideau Heights Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rideau Heights Inn is a short drive to the downtown area, along which you will discover the historical Rideau Canal and the heart beat of Ottawa. In the other direction you will be pleased to know we are also a short 15 minute drive to the Ottawa International Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rideau Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Heights Hotel Ottawa
Rideau Heights Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rideau Heights Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.