We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, will return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rideau Heights Inn

Save Saved
You added Rideau Heights Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rideau Heights Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   72 Rideau Heights Dr., Ottawa, Ontario K2E7A6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CAD98 (CAD)
Ranked #24 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, will return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This establishment is located away from the downtown area of Ottawa, near the airport. The grounds are clean and well kept. There are a number of eating establishments close-by but not within walking distance. Unfortunately, there is was no microwave provided in the room, so there is no way to re-heat leftovers from a restaurant, or in our case, a delivered pizza. (which was from Milano's and was excellent by the way. Delivery menus available in the Inn Office).
All staff we dealt with were friendly, courteous and professional. Information they provided regarding eating and shopping in the area was very helpful.
The room was very clean and and spacious. I liked the layout of the toilet and shower being in a separate room from the bathroom sink, hair dryer, and extra large mirror.
The included continental breakfast was satisfactory, but it should be noted that there is no eating area in the lobby. Trays are provided to take your breakfast selections to your room.
Not a problem during nice weather, but not so sure about inclement or cold weather, although the walk to the Lobby from the rooms is covered.
Judging by the number of cars in the parking lot, the place was quite full of guests, but we never heard any extraneous noise during our two night stay.
All in all, a very pleasant stay, and we are already booked in to return again this September.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
33
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Visiting our granddaughter we chose here as it was close to her.
Very clean and the bed was so comfy best we have ever had, will be staying here again on our next visit.
Only down side the room next door had their AC/Heating fan on which vibrated through to our room and was quite noisey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you are looking for a good clean room in the south of Ottawa at a reasonable price this is a good choice! It's not a Delta but nicely put together very pleasant setting and the staff are very amiable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were in Ottawa for the last weekend of Winterlude. The hotel was priced well for what it provided; not a 'swanky' place to stay but the room was clean and comfortable. Coffee in your room and our room had a bar fridge that we could store some essentials in. The complimentary continental breakfast was good and what you would expect - coffee, tea, juice, pastries, muffins, small boxes of cereal, milk, etc. We took advantage of it while there for the two mornings and it was worthwhile.
The drive to Ottawa is just a couple of minutes and it is close to the bay at the end of the Rideau Canal so you can skate into town if you wish.
Staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
The WiFi worked perfectly on my iPad2 and was included in the price. We were right next to the office so I cannot comment on its range.
We plan on booking again when we return for a visit in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed there with my husband because it was the closest hotel to my work's x-mas party. It was cheap so I didn't know what to expect. Staff was very friendly. Our Room was clean and fairly updated, free wifi, fridge, free continental breakfast. Our king size bed was the most comfy bed ever (not even comparable to fairmonts, hilton's, & marriott's')!!. Overall very satified for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermette
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We attended a major dog show in Ottawa.This hotel was minutes from the CE Center and the airport. Although we were under a flight path, you really could not hear the planes. Very comfortable bed! The grounds were grass and well treed. You park right in front of your room. Breakfast was basic muffins, coffee and cereal. Restaurants were all around the area within driving distances.We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our trip and also on the last night, as it is an easy drive to and from the Ottawa International Airport. It is a basic Inn, but is clean and has everything you need for a comfortable night's stay. We dealt with Roger and also with Yakoub (not sure if I spelled his name right) and they were both more than friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rideau Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Heights Inn

Address: 72 Rideau Heights Dr., Ottawa, Ontario K2E7A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rideau Heights Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rideau Heights Inn is a short drive to the downtown area, along which you will discover the historical Rideau Canal and the heart beat of Ottawa. In the other direction you will be pleased to know we are also a short 15 minute drive to the Ottawa International Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rideau Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Heights Hotel Ottawa
Rideau Heights Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rideau Heights Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.