We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice suprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rideau Heights Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rideau Heights Inn to your Saves list
Rideau Heights Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   72 Rideau Heights Dr., Ottawa, Ontario K2E7A6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CAD10 off room rate
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Southern Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a nice suprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We read prior reviews and took a chance. Found a clean, newly renovated room that was very reasonable and easily recommended. It lists "breakfast" which was a mediocre selection of saranwrapped muffins on the counter along with a coffee make a fridge. Seemed like false adv ertising. And it was somewhat noisy with students in other areas of the motel. But we would return and would recommend. Make sure to ask for the renovated rooms. (NOTE: pool and restaraunt rating entered in error)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
31
42
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I went on a two night trip to Ottawa and stayed in the Rideau Heights Inn, the room was very clean and nicely set up. It was one of those out in the middle of no where relaxing getaways with out being in the middle of no where we were only 10 mins from everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We found this unique quiet place....nice surroundings, close to airport

Room Tip: Easy access to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coogee, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have just had a 4-night stay at Rideau Heights Motel as part of a Canada sightseeing holiday, and it was perfect for our trip. We are fans of single-story motels with parking at the door rather than high rise fancy hotels. This one was situated in a nice leafy environment, with very easy driving access to the main sights of Ottawa. After reading the other Trip Advisor reviews, we expected the motel to be a bit older. However, we were pleasantly surprised with our king-bed room; it was quite contemporary, spacious, with minifridge (no microwave), sitting area, desk, etc. It had a large bench with vanity outside the bathroom (shower over the bath, toilet) which is convenient. Internet (free) worked well, and the air-conditioning was appreciated in the extremely hot temps. The huge bed was lovely and clean, and very comfortable (not too soft). Breakfast was also included - it wasn't fancy but just right for us (cereal in miniboxes, coffee, and muffins). It was great to come back to the room each day and relax at the motel, even having a sit in the deck chairs under the shade trees, having a coffee, and watching the squirrels. Staff were lovely too, relaxed and hospitable. Ottawa was a surprisingly great city - lots to see, fabulous architecture, beautiful canals, flowers and vegetation etc, plus the War Museum is a must-see if you are interested in world history. But we did feel sorry for the guardsmen at the Changing of the Guard who were in full regalia in 30 plus temps!

Room Tip: All the rooms would be quiet due to the location of the motel. Rooms in the single level buildings m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

An old favorite when visiting Ottawa. Rideau Heights Inn never disappoints: good, basic rooms that are always clean and well maintained. Recent upgrades (to bathrooms, flat screen TVs, tiling) are all much appreciated. Thankfully, they also have windows that actually open.
Don't let the cab driver shuttle you to a typical airport hotel. Rideau Heights Inn is a much better alternative, run by people who care about their guests.
No pool, restaurant or other amenities, but there's free coffee and all rooms have small fridges.
We hope the owners will plant more white pines soon; the old ones are slowly declining.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the office are my favorite, because you can park right in front of your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havelock, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

While exhibiting at the Cottage Show at the Ottawa CE we wanted comfortable accommodation at a budget price for three nights. After a long day on our feet, it's important to access a hotel room easily and be within easy reach of restaurants that are not blowing our budget as the airport hotels do. Rideau Heights Motel met and exceeded our criteria. Beds were very comfortable, basic facilities such as a fridge and free Wifi were available and it was so nice to simply park the car outside the door of the room. I would have rated sleep quality higher if there had been two pillows per person and if there had been a night stand on both sides of a king bed. Not hugely expensive items that would have increased the standard of this motel.

Room Tip: There are some second level rooms - would recommend ground level for easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very helpful and plesant staff, very quite property and plenty of parking space. Rooms are specious...love this property and everytime I visit Ottawa I stay at this location.

Room Tip: Littel away from the office as lot of guests go to office so it can be little bit of walking/door op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rideau Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Heights Inn

Address: 72 Rideau Heights Dr., Ottawa, Ontario K2E7A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rideau Heights Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rideau Heights Inn is a short drive to the downtown area, along which you will discover the historical Rideau Canal and the heart beat of Ottawa. In the other direction you will be pleased to know we are also a short 15 minute drive to the Ottawa International Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rideau Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Heights Hotel Ottawa
Rideau Heights Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rideau Heights Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.