We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, lacking amenities and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9 , Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Clean rooms, lacking amenities and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Location is great and the rooms are cozy and clean. We were a group of girls out for an entertaining girls' weekend and were looking forward to using the hot tub only to find that it was a dirty cesspool of filth and germs. Needless to say we were very disappointed! The front desk staff seem disinterested in assisting their guests.

Also, bathroom toiletries were not stocked and not nearly enough for the guests occupying the room. Even though the hotel advertises a spa, it was not open when we wanted to use the facilities.

My review might seem like an anomaly amongst these other glowing reviews, but I'm only being truthful about my experience.

If the employees put more effort and care into addressing their guests, maybe it would be palatable, and make a bit of a difference. Bottom line...I will be staying elsewhere next time we are in Ottawa.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Peridot,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to know that you found our location and room accommodations to be convenient for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apologies however if you found our staff's service to be sub par. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    258
    88
    24
    13
See reviews for
98
208
43
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I planned a night away for our 5 year anniversary. We had left our two children at home for the first time and were really excited to spend some time together, when we began talking to Bess at the front desk she was as excited as we were! She recommended a terrific restaurant, drew us maps,Suggested 3 different ideas of how to spend our " free time" and when we returned from the museum she suggested we found a beautiful tray of cheese, crackers, and fresh strawberries. What a kind and thoughtful surprise! Bess was the face of the hotel Indigo and of Ottawa for us, she made us feel like family which is why We are booking our next trip already. The rooms were clean and calming, and all staff were courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Corner rooms over look the city, beautiful view but not completely dark in the night. Spacious and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I just got back from another visit to Hotel Indigo, and it was great as always. I love the soothing decor, and a big fave is the rooms with the composite wood flooring- no nasty carpet! I stayed in a king bedroom. Everything was in good repair and sparkling. The rooms have a huge shower and teak stool, but no tub. They even provide Aveda bath products.

The location is excellent for getting around Ottawa, and the staff were very helpful. All in all, a lovely place to relax and enjoy the city.

Room Tip: I was on the fifth floor and had no noise issues. The concierge told me they don't book hockey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hotel Indigo on TripAdvisor. We love to read reviews, especially from our regular guests! And to read that we are your favourite hotel in Ottawa makes us very happy. It's our favourite hotel too! In the reviews I've read this afternoon, the laminate floors are as ever popular! They are great for cleanliness and guests with allergies.

We look forward to inviting you back on your next visit to Ottawa!

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Easily located and centrally located, this hotel is within walking distance of everything from the Natural History Museum to the Parliament buildings, the canal to Sparks Street. The price was reasonable, the rooms clean and nicely decorated. We had issues with temperature control and evening hallway noise but really enjoyed the pool, fitness rooms and hot tub. I found the bed very hard (painfully so) but the rest of my family said they slept well. I would also have preferred a bath tub over a shower but recognize that it's a matter of taste.

Room Tip: I'd suggest requesting an exterior room so that you'll have a window to open for fresh air a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. All feedback received from our guests allows us to continuously improve upon our product and service.

I am glad you enjoyed our neighbourhood, there are so many wonderful things to see and do within walking distance of our hotel.

Please accept my apologies that you did not have a restful sleep. We do have spa inspired showers in all of our guest rooms, however, we do have a few rooms that also have bathtubs so please be sure to request one on your next stay.

We look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo on your next trip to Ottawa.

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavsberg, Sweden
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel i centrally located but in a boring neighb. The rooms are ok but not more than that, the tv didnt work that well and also not one of the lamps. Something to work on.
Breakfast not included but available with great coffee. Wifi included in rate.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Magnusigurra,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the amenities in the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found this to be a great location for exploring the city. The staff was very helpful in guiding us to where we needed to be and finding a place for our rented bikes. The bar area was nice, not crowded or loud. This was our second time staying at this hotel - we were here a couple of years ago for a visit that was too short and decided to come back. We would stay at this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Hotel Indigo on TripAdvisor. We love to hear feedback from guests like youself so we are better able to improve upon our product and service.

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I must admit I thought you must be very adventurous renting bikes in February until I noticed you stayed with us in September. If you do return in February we have great skate rentals available!

We look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo again and again!

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel location and staff are great. The main problem was the shower pressure which was way too low (6th floor) and heating which didnt seem to work in my room. The room nicely decorated however faced the inside of the hotel. You would think if I paid full price for a several day stay they would put me in a nicer room with a view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear cpolides1,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad that you found our location and staff to be great. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory water pressure and heating condition you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Address: 123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at Hotel Indigo enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. Hotel Indigo Ottawa, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. Hotel Indigo Ottawa is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Ottawa Convention Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, Phi Bistro & Bar, where the food is fresh and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.