We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at a fair rate.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9 , Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Gustavsberg, Sweden
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Average at a fair rate.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel i centrally located but in a boring neighb. The rooms are ok but not more than that, the tv didnt work that well and also not one of the lamps. Something to work on.
Breakfast not included but available with great coffee. Wifi included in rate.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Magnusigurra,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the amenities in the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    265
    92
    27
    13
See reviews for
100
218
44
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found this to be a great location for exploring the city. The staff was very helpful in guiding us to where we needed to be and finding a place for our rented bikes. The bar area was nice, not crowded or loud. This was our second time staying at this hotel - we were here a couple of years ago for a visit that was too short and decided to come back. We would stay at this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Hotel Indigo on TripAdvisor. We love to hear feedback from guests like youself so we are better able to improve upon our product and service.

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I must admit I thought you must be very adventurous renting bikes in February until I noticed you stayed with us in September. If you do return in February we have great skate rentals available!

We look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo again and again!

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel location and staff are great. The main problem was the shower pressure which was way too low (6th floor) and heating which didnt seem to work in my room. The room nicely decorated however faced the inside of the hotel. You would think if I paid full price for a several day stay they would put me in a nicer room with a view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear cpolides1,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad that you found our location and staff to be great. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory water pressure and heating condition you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything about my stay was excellent. The staff, the room, the service and the hotel itself were all perfect. I was there for political reasons and the hotel's proximity to the Parliament Buildings was an added bonus. No hesitation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suite on the second floor was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for winterlude. Good location, close to the park where all the icecarving was. Easy to get to the Rideau Canal. Not far to Parliament Hill. Just across the canal to Byward Market. Rooms smallish but clean and all that we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a smallish hotel in a great location, near the Parliament Buildings and within walking distance of good restaurants and tourist attractions. The room didn't have carpeting which is nice for people with dust allergies. All rooms are entered from a "court yard" and there is a decent restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on business & was more than happy with Hotel Indigo. Very clean, good food (& beer) in the restaurant. Pretty well equipped gym, really central so lots within walking distance. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Only negative was I had a room on the 2nd floor so noise from the lobby & street carried at night - lesson learned ask to go higher nxt time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Address: 123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at Hotel Indigo enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. Hotel Indigo Ottawa, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. Hotel Indigo Ottawa is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Ottawa Convention Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, Phi Bistro & Bar, where the food is fresh and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.