We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9 , Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything about my stay was excellent. The staff, the room, the service and the hotel itself were all perfect. I was there for political reasons and the hotel's proximity to the Parliament Buildings was an added bonus. No hesitation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suite on the second floor was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    254
    88
    24
    13
See reviews for
98
205
43
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for winterlude. Good location, close to the park where all the icecarving was. Easy to get to the Rideau Canal. Not far to Parliament Hill. Just across the canal to Byward Market. Rooms smallish but clean and all that we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a smallish hotel in a great location, near the Parliament Buildings and within walking distance of good restaurants and tourist attractions. The room didn't have carpeting which is nice for people with dust allergies. All rooms are entered from a "court yard" and there is a decent restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on business & was more than happy with Hotel Indigo. Very clean, good food (& beer) in the restaurant. Pretty well equipped gym, really central so lots within walking distance. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Only negative was I had a room on the 2nd floor so noise from the lobby & street carried at night - lesson learned ask to go higher nxt time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer. Nice clean room, not the largest but really fine. Gym and sauna open 24 hours, Very friendly staff, all round very pleased. Look forward to staying there next time in Ottawa.

Room Tip: Room 320 maybe avoid, it's direclty across housekeeping and the entrance to the sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Location is very good. Not far from most of the sites, Byward Market is about a 20 mins walk away. Valet parking only. Lots near by but not worth it. They bed okay but anyone can see that the matress was warped (never seen that before). Surprisingly it was still comfortable. I was on business and the room and wifi more than met my needs. Ate at the bistro, for hotel food it was good and not too expensive. There is construction nearby so get a room on the top floor and either on the front of the hotel, or the back left corner. Right side of the building is loud. I was on the 4th floor and it was still a bother. Also, garbage pick up at 645am under my window. Overall, still above average as they upgraded my room at no cost and without asking.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors, stay in a room facing Metcalfe st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Ontheroad1982,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am guessing this is one of many sites for this chain, located in such exotic locations as London, UK and Shanghai. Situated in Ottawa's business core, it offers a sleek, Euro-influenced boutique feel. I believe it is a renovated hotel from the 80's which in turn had previously been an office building. So, think blockish structure from back in the day. Very nicely appointed interior, with spacious foyer, on the corner of Metcalf and Laurier - one of the busiest corners in Ottawa. Parking is available in one of many surrounding underground structures or pay-to-park lots. No street parking unless you feed that meter. We parked in our monthly paid slot a couple blocks away, so I am not sure what the Indigo's arrangements are. Close to Parliament Hill, shopping,
the Byward Market, Rideau Canal, etc.
Front staff were friendly and efficient, confirming a number of details and pointing out the various
amenities. Check in quick, friendly and efficient. The room was quite nice, super king with more
pillows than you could possibly need. Bathroom was clean, but small, with very basic (Aveda)
toiletries provided. Nitpick: a plus-sized person might have issues with how/where the toilet roll is
placed. Pretty much right in your ribs, once "seated." Shower stall large, open concept, and a
good shower head. Teak bench for those who prefer the comfort of seating while bathing. Towels plentiful, but somewhat small for my liking.
The noise level is an issue, especially if near the elevators, or facing Metcalfe St - more so if
staying during the week.
There is an onsite restaurant for room service and breakfast ( not taken) and a treat for the gents
- a real, old school barbershop attached to the hotel.
Another nitpick: most hotels we've stayed at include at least one or two free bottles of water...at
least for the first day's stay. The offering here was a 1L bottle for $4. That's it, and no fridge to
pop your comestibles/beverages into for the night (though an ice machine, ice bucket and
vending is handy).
Overall, though, a very nice place to stay in the heart of downtown Ottawa. I especially
appreciate the luggage rack and adequate space to put your stuff, if in for more than a night or
two. Free wi-fi always appreciated.




If you wanted to Small, clean bathroom, basic toiletries included. Would not wanted to have been a plus-sized guest; the toilet paper roll pretty much jammed into your ribs as you

Room Tip: Pick a room over or behind the reception - adjoins an alley/separate hotel, away from the very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Address: 123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at Hotel Indigo enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. Hotel Indigo Ottawa, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. Hotel Indigo Ottawa is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Ottawa Convention Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, Phi Bistro & Bar, where the food is fresh and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.