We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9 , Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
La Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Downtown nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We chose the hotel for the location in Ottawa and it met all our expectations. It was close to all of the sites we wished to visit.

The hotel itself was clean and of a very high standard. If we have to come back to Ottawa in a near future, the Hotel Indigo will be our place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    277
    101
    28
    13
See reviews for
110
233
46
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Nice hotel that is well situated with likeable staff.It is not a Boutique Hotel ,a little to large to be that.However it was very pleasant.Our room did not have wireless connection,which was a little annoying for a modern hotel ! only connection was in reception.
Our room was well sized with wooden/laminate floors comfortable and very quiet.
We never used the bar or restaurant as there are so many other choices within walking distance,but all looked good.
All members of staff were very pleasant and helpfull,It made an OK hotel a very good experience.
We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

i'm not going to begrudge the hotel of the Basics: Very Clean, and very friendly staff. But when I got up to my room, it was the size of a TV cardboard box. I get the mentality- why have 2 moderate rooms when you can have 3 tiny rooms- I understand that buisness mentality, but then you end up with reviews like this. After reading "Minnie H" review on the Downtown Quality Inn in Ottawa, and there apparent 84.00 surplus housekeeping charge (I suggest you resolve that Jeff Liston) I decided to stay here at the Hotel Indigo. I rate hotels based on two things. Cleanliness is not an issue for me. Is what you PAY equal to what you RECEIVE. Here; no. I paid 152.00 CAA rate for a tiny hotel room that I could hardly fit in, PLUS 19.00 Parking fee in a super tiny "Over-size" lot, NO free breakfast, and the Phi Restaurant is SUPER expensive. If this is what the Indigo chain is all about-- PASS. Check for better hotels in the downtown core.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo on your recent trip to Ottawa and for taking the time to write abour your stay with us. Our goal is to deliver inspired service to all of our guests and I apologize this was not the case for you.

I am glad your found our hotel to be very clean and our staff very friendly. Although these are the basics as you mention, we take great pride in our staff and the service they provide to our guests.

As a boutique hotel our guest rooms are each unique and different from the next. Some of the rooms are larger than others but each has its own character. We have packages that include parking and breakfast that might be a better option for you should you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your feedback and my apologies for the less than satisfactory stay you had with us.

In hospitality,
Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

we arrived at the hotel around noonish and Suzie at the desk was very friendly to check if a nice room was available at that time. Suzie gave us a choie of an early check in or the nicer room with the king bed at a later time. That was a very welcoming touch to our arrival experience since it is very rare being given the choice. We decided to wait and stroll through the city and do some shopping. When we arrived back at the hotel we were able to check in. Again Suzie did a very good job and was very friendly. Later that afternoon we had some questions and Justin was able to help us out with answers at the Front Desk.
We forgot our toothpast and after requesting it was promptly delivered to our room with a smile on the housekeepers face!
The room was spacious and very ncely decorated. I love the hardwood floors/laminate floors. Gives it a much cleaner feel than the overrated carpet. The wired internet was amazing, I think with a 100BPM we had no issues to connect and skype with relatives.
We had a good night sleep in the very much comfortable king bed and the check out with Thomas was quick and friendly.
I knew finding the parking would be a bit tricky from a previous stay, after circling around the block a 2nd time I was able to find the right turn! lol
All in all a very nice hotel located just a few blocks away from the major sights, with very friendly Front Desk staff!
I can highly recommend the hotel for couples that need an escape or business people that are fine with a wired internet connection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed, last week of June 2012.

Staff - pleasant and engaging, but a little inexperienced especially when attempting to provide local restaurant advice. They just seemed a little unsure of their recommendations. Tip - if the attempt is to provide a boutique hotel experience, then recognise that the clientelle are generally fairly experienced travellers but may need equally experienced advice from the staff.

Amenities. There is no direct access to to underground parking except by passing through the lobby of the neighbouring Residence Inn. Information such as signs needs to be a bit more available. The pool and fitness centre are shared with the Residence inn, and the equipment is a bit tired. The hotel could do with its own fitness centre.

Rooms, quite pleasant with modern, clean and maintained decor and furniture.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay in Ottawa and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience with us. Our goal is to deliver inspired service for each of our guests and I sincerely apologize this was not the case for you.

We take the comments we receive from our guests to heart and use them to improve upon our porduct and service. Should you wish to disucss your stay in more depth please contact me directly.

In hospitality,
Kim Jones
General Manager
kjones@ottawadowntownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice hotel. Small rooms, but nicely appointed. The only down sides were the parking shared with the hotel next door and the lack of in-room WiFi. Parking lots are hard to come by in the city, but the maze of what one must do to get to their car is somewhat humorous. Never the less, nice to have underground parking. The lobby is outfitted with WiFi, but these days, it seems like a very easy service to provide guests in their rooms. It was quiet, convenient, and clean. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great place right in the heart of the city. Close to everything, and very easy to find. Rooms are clean and a good size, and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Address: 123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at Hotel Indigo enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. Hotel Indigo Ottawa, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. Hotel Indigo Ottawa is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Ottawa Convention Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, Phi Bistro & Bar, where the food is fresh and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.