We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in the Market!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ByWard Blue Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ByWard Blue Inn to your Saves list
ByWard Blue Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Clarence Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay in the Market!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the Byward Blue Inn for 4 wonderful nights in early April for our chosen getaway to our Nation's capital.

This hidden gem was an absolute delight. We booked through hotwire, and the rate was amazing for the perfect location that this Inn is found in. It is literally a 2 minute walk to the Market, with oodles of restaurants, pubs and nightlife to boost. Parliament Hill is a 10 minute walk, the War Museum and Downtown Core is well within walking distance. The Rideau Centre (main shopping centre) is only a 5 minute walk.

The rooms were updated, and while simple were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our room came equipped with a beautiful patio that would be nice to use in the Summer months. Noise was not an issue, and the staff and stay was a highlight of our trip. The room was plenty big, and daily maid service was provided.

One of the positives of this Inn, is that a hot/cold breakfast comes with your stay each morning. This was a highlight for us. The dining room is beautiful, and there is everything from a milk frother, cereal selection, fresh fruit and yogurt, as well as several hot items to choose from each morning.

The cab ride from the airport cost approx $35.00. Bus service was easy to use in Ottawa, and we took the bus to the Canadian Tire Centre for a Sennators game one evening. The outlet shopping is right next to this centre, and is accessible by bus.

We did not rent a car in Ottawa, and did not feel that we missed out on any attractions due to not having a car. The public transit is easy to use, and everything is accessible by foot from this great location.

Overall great stay, we will return. I'll be spreading the good word.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. Ask for a Parliament view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    163
    37
    26
    17
See reviews for
42
168
36
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
western md
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Overall this hotel is a solid choice for visiting Ottawa, the location is great for walking to the Byward Market area and Parliament and Rideau Centre are short walks away. The rooms themselves are a little outdated but were clean and the complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea and cheese were a nice touch. Have realistic expectations and you will have a great stay.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your feedback on the rooms and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wanted to like this hotel... really I did. It was clean and staff was friendly. Location was good, and my room opened to a nice courtyard. But overall the amenities were not that great for the price. Pillows were paper thin, bed not so comfortable and there was no threshold under the door providing no sound insulation from the hallway (think hospital-like). It felt like a hotel rehab done only adequately.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear the bed and pillows were not up to your standards. For the future, you may ask the front desk for extra pillows or for alternative pillows. If you would like to tell us more about the amenities you felt were missing, or any other details of your stay, please contact us via email or phone. We appreciate your feedback so that we may always continue to improve. Without suggestions like yours, we are unable to know where we might do better. We hope that next time we will not only meet but exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minerva,ny usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had walked past this inn on prior trips to ottawa and paid no attention.After reading the good reveiws we decides to give it a try.This was a smart move. The inn is quiet ,clean,comfortable and the location is imposible to beat.We will return.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reception area does not do justice to this great little hotel. The room we stayed in was clean, well-appointed and had a small kitchenette. My daughter had her own room, with TV, leading off from ours. The bathroom was small, but clean and well maintained. The only disappointment was the breakfast which was self-service, and took sometime for the staff to replenish the empty dishes of food. The hotel itself is located right beside the Byward Market and within walking distance of Parliament Hill and other Ottawa sights and events (I recommend the ghost walk!).

Room Tip: The family rooms are very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are very sorry to hear that there was a delay in replenishing the food during your breakfast. We will do everything we can to address the noted issue although replenishing the freshly cooked food takes some time due to guest line ups and so fourth. Apart from that, we hope you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the feedback.

Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you love food like me, then you will love this hotel's location which is within the ByWard Market food district and has over 100 restaurants and cafes within a 5 minute walk! It is less than 10 mins by foot from Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and most other attractions too. The hotel is kept clean and the staff are extremely helpful with anything you might need. We had tickets to the Tire Center to watch a Senators game and the staff telephoned round local bus companies for us to find out which buses we needed to take and what time and wrote this all out for us so we knew where to go! The breakfasts were amazing - I wanted to take the cook home with me! Perfectly cooked bacon, omelettes and fried bread with syrup was my idea of heaven! I should say that there were other breakfast options available too though if you would prefer cereal or continental breakfast choices!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It is so pleasing to read that our hotel met all of your expectations. We are also very happy to hear that you found the location to be easy accessible to all areas of Ottawa. Truly appreciate your review, Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future. Hope to see you soon. Yours Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised by how great it was. The location is within walking distance to the restaurant/nightlife district and the staff at the hotel are exceptional - very friendly and courteous. The room was clean and tidy and the complimentary breakfast was great. I will definitely be staying here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad to hear you look forward to staying again. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ByWard Blue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ByWard Blue Inn

Address: 157 Clarence Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ByWard Blue Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ByWard Blue Inn is the only hotel in Ottawa`s favorite gathering place for cafes, galleries, museums, restaurants, shopping and the ByWard Market. This charming Inn offers to business or pleasure travelers great room rates in a fantastic location. Queen or Twin Bed rooms feature private balconies, ensuite bathrooms, climate control, Internet, Cable TV and complimentary breakfast. All major attractions are within a 5 -15 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your ByWard Blue Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byward Blue Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ByWard Blue Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.