We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ByWard Blue Inn

Save Saved
You added ByWard Blue Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ByWard Blue Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   157 Clarence Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 56 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel and we absolutely loved it. Of course, it did not hurt that we were upgraded in our room selection. We got a full balcony which was great. Our room was enormous for the two of us. The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. We were close to all the attractions that the Byward Market had to offer. We just walked over to the Lookout which was the reason we had visited Ottawa. We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    122
    35
    21
    17
See reviews for
29
129
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location of this hotel was steps away from the Byward Market and was great in terms of location. But the hotel itself was nothing spectacular or even poor. We booked through hotwire, which rated this hotel as 3 stars, but based on the condition of the hotel and quality of the beds and furniture (and possibly cleanliness?), I'd rate this hotel as 2.5 stars as best. Microwave, fridge and dishes were a bonus, but don't expect vending machine or mini bar. The fire alarm malfunctioned during our stay, which may bias this review slightly, but even without considering that annoyance, the hotel was in need of an update. The 'non-smoking' hotel also wreaked of smoke on our floor, which was another negative. Don't wait around for the elevator, better to take the stairs up and down. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, but the cleaning staff were quite rude. Would not stay here again (and my standards are quite low).

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this lovely little hotel. From the super friendly staff, to the welcoming and cozy sitting room with fireplace and study desks, to the complimentary breakfast and afternoon snack, to the little garden off the ground floor rooms, we had a great stay at Byward Blue Inn.

The only slight issue was the noise from the construction going on next door, but we had a comfortable bed, TV, equipped bathroom with lovely hot shower, a little kitchen with microwave and utensils and fridge.

Location is also excellent - being right in the heart of Byward and a block to the Market and close to attractions. The hotel also attracts those seeking visas at the US Embassy which is literally a 2 minute walk down the street.

Room Tip: We had a ground level room, which had a small private outdoor area and access to the larger shared g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Small hotel that is clean and in a great location. The room was small with a couple of tables and desk chairs. The bed was comfortable. The room also had a microwave, fridge, dishes and cutlery. The lobby had a comfortable sitting room. Breakfast was included and was simple but adequate. The location was very good, on the edge of Byward Market area and therefore had many restaurants and shops in the area. Good location to see the sights of Ottawa. Nothing fancy but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a visit to our son who is a student at Ottawa U. We were 10 minutes from his apartment and within walking distance of the campus. The hotel is reasonably priced, well equiped rooms. Great location within the Byward Market--easy walking distance to all downtown Ottawa attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great little find, handy for site-seeing plus the numerous bars and eating places of the Byward Market area. Good size room with everything you'd need to rustle up a snack although there are so many eating places within 5 minutes walk why would you want to? Great staff and management who helped sort out a booking mix-up, not their fault I may add.Thanks guys.... Would certainly stay there next time we are in Ottawa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is a pleasure dealing with the staff in this hotel. Being a smaller place, only 57 rooms, they are helpful in a personal way.
Being 3 people, we stayed in the family suite. In fact, it is simply 2 rooms with a wall removed. The space is large, but not overly attractive. The furniture is worn and the bathroom needs a make-over. There is a small kitchenette and a large balcony. The 3 beds, 2 single and a double, were comfortable enough.
Where this inn excels is on the main floor. There is a lovely area off the lobby where breakfast and afternoon tea are served. The room has a cozy sitting area with a fireplace and nicely placed tables and chairs. It is a comfortable area and hot drinks and cold water are available all day.
We were however woken up both mornings at 4 am. I found out from the front desk that the roads in the market are "hoovered" daily at this hour. As well, traffic starts early in this market area, so beware if you are a light sleeper.
The location of this hotel is so convenient. One can easily walk to restaurants, sights and shops.
We had a great time here, but there were some glitches.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor to MAYBE lessen street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ByWard Blue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ByWard Blue Inn

Address: 157 Clarence Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ByWard Blue Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your ByWard Blue Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byward Blue Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ByWard Blue Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.