We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ByWard

ByWard
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (Byward Market Area)
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 139 attractions in Ottawa
Type: Neighborhoods
Attraction Details
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Love this market and walking around and checking out all the shops and stalls.Didnt go into any eateries as not much open xmas eve or xmas day!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    137
    46
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, MB
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lots to eat, drink, and shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Byward Market is a great place to eat, drink and shop. Lots of little unique shops and stands, pubs, etc. Great to walk and wonder about. We were there in the winter but it would be amazing in the summer months.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I spent a week in Ottawa for my very first visit, and was delighted with the city in so many ways.
Le Moulin de Provence is the most amazing patisserie in ByWard, the local marketplace. It is the sort of place I have sorely mssed in western Canada.
The range of cakes and pastries are absolute perfection. The lattes are served the French way in a bowl.
ByWard has the best sausaage shop...called The Sausage Kitchen, where you can buy the biggest range of delicious sausages I have seen across Canada.
The ByWard shops include the Rocky Mountain Candy store with all the candy coated apples you could ever want.
Being an Aussie cheese lover, I was delighted to find several specialty cheese shops.
An Irish and Scottish pub are right beside ByWard.
The variety of shops at ByWard is endless and well worth the visit. I'm sure you will return more than once.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place but tourist trap. Read”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Byward market is a very nice little stretch of Ottawa but be warned and read bellow.

If you have a family and are on a trip. Avoid the Byward at night. It becomes flooded with drunk University students and gets very loud and obnoxious.

During the day however it is a very nice lively place to walk around and enjoy. Stores such as LUSH, Rocky mountain chocolate factory and La Bottega are great places to visit. Saying that.. Avoid eating in the central building (The one with all the artisans and the chocolate factory) it is a massive rip off and everything is super expensive. Instead walk a block south to the Redeau center mall or go north 2 streets to some of the nice sit down restaurants. They will cost about the same but you will get a nice huge warm meal with drink in a nice seat.

Also make sure to visit the artisans in the central building. you can get amazing stuff for a great price and there are always new nice things to look at.

Also if you are looking for washrooms. Upstairs in the central building.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“visit for dinnner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

People were very rude. Banged on my car as I parked. It was a Saturday night and I had the children with me for a nice dinner at Tuckers. Food was good

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ByWard also viewed

 

Been to ByWard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ByWard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added ByWard to your Saves list