We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building and contents celebrate War” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National War Memorial

National War Memorial
Elgin Street | Confederation Square, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9N6, Canada
Improve this listing
Visit National War Memorial like an insider
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #5 of 235 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Building and contents celebrate War”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The architecture is inspirational. The pointed roof gives hope. I really
liked the onoing shows of war art by some of our most cherished artists.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    62
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum an achievement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Don't miss this museum..... learn about past wars, see the warfare, nes and old. If you happen to be a war veteran, pastband present memories. Show your support for past veterans. Bring comfortable shoes.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Moving.......Very Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

During my visit every time I walked towards downtown or walked by the National War Memorial I would conscientiously think about the sacrifices made by our Armed Forces. Very striking Memorial for them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawinigan, Canada
1 review
“Proud to be a Canadian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

As an ex-air force member, many memories, including my stage in Egypt with UNO. I visited this site when they opened at their present location, close to the bridge to Hull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Blah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

There is really not much to say, we all found it boring! I can't believe the money they spent on building it,such a let down!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National War Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.