We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast
28 Carlotta Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1L 6S6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 57 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I've never stayed at a B&B before and was somewhat scared, but I LOVED my stay at Shirley Samantha's. The house was really clean. The room was spacious and the bathroom was very nice. But most importantly, the breakfast was AMAZING! Cynthia is a fantastic cook. She made the greatest zucchini chocolate chip muffins, buttermilk scones, and egg o'muffin! I loved the cookies in the study as well. Cynthia was very accomodating to my diet and made delicious lactose-free cookies for me! The next time I'm in Ottawa, I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Having two daughters at University in Ottawa over the past ten years, I have made the trip down the 401 from Mississauga many times. This past summer was the first time I stayed in a B&B. As I was looking for accomodations downtown, it never occured to me to seek a B&B. My partner and I were thrilled! The home (although unassuming from the street) was delightful. We stayed in the room with seperate private bath. All our needs were attended to from internet access to cold drinks and cookies. Cynthia was quite interested in our latest hobby geocaching and helped up navigate to my daughter's place with ease. We stayed two nights and each breakfast was a sheer delight. We shared our morning meal ourdoors the first day with a young couple from Germany and the second morning we ate inside with French guests. A delightful experience - one that will require us to return on our next trek through the city!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I have nothing bad to say about Cynthia and her B&B. My wife, my 8-mth son and I stayed two nights in the bigger room with private shower. The room is very spacious and still has enough space after we put in a foldable crib. The house is well furnished and decorated, and very clean - spotless! Cynthia made us so comfortable and felt at home. Cynthia entertained my 8-mth baby during breakfast and he loves her reponding with lots smiles! This B&B definitely is family friendly. As many other reviewers already mentioned, Cynthia's culinary skills are superb. She cooks the best breakfast - both tastes and looks awesome, better than many 5-star hotels. For the price you pay, you get the best value!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Shirley Samantha's exceeded my expectations in every way. I felt pampered because Cynthia had thought of everything I could possibly need & more--the cookies were awesome! This is my idea of what a small b&b should be, & the short bus ride to downtown & Parliament Hill turned out to be easy.

Room Tip: Crabapple Room with hall bathroom make an excellent bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

From the outside this B&B looks a little inconspicuous and there is just a little tripadvisor sign in the door window indicating that this must be the B&B you are looking for. But the inside is really awesome.

It is an elegant furnished housed with big and very comfortable guestrooms. Everywhere in the house you’ll find interesting art objects. Cynthia is a very well-educated and sympathic woman which you’ll find in the kitchen most of the time. This is probably the reason why she is such an excellent cook. Her breakfast is really really delicious (yes, one really was not enough)!

I think no four star hotel – neither the rooms, nor the cooking – can compete with Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast. I travel frequently, but up to know didn’t find a comparable B&B. If I should ever visit Ottawa again, I’ll definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

As part of a driving trip around Canada, we stayed 2 nights here to see Ottawa and was very pleased with our stay. In total we stayed at 7 different B&Bs across Canada and this one was definitely the best overall. Very comfortable room, friendly hosts, great location for seeing the city, clean and excellent value for money for the service we received.

As for the food, simply excellent. It's so easy for a lot of B&Bs to give you bread and let you get one with your own breakfast, but the food (several courses) we were brought (literally served to us) was fantastic! Very well presented, great variety, and delicious. Being vegetarian wasn't a problem either.

If you want to stay at a B&B in Ottawa (or even at a hotel), you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We decided to have a stop over in Ottawa on our way home to Nova Scotia for our wedding anniversary. We found this BnB listed in a recommended brochure on Ottawa and decided to give it a try.

This is a charming, tucked away place. We did not have a rental and walking to the heart of Ottawa only took us 15-20 mins. The rooms were very well maintained and serviced daily. The breakfast had a European Style to it, very different. Our hostess Cynthia was very helpful, in giving us directions, places to see and do and took pride in her BnB, and you can absolutely see that in how very spotless this BnB was.
There is a park with a walking path across the street that was great for our last morning stroll before heading to the airport.

The bedroom that we had was very light, and spacious, it also came with its own a 3 piece bathroom : Shower, Basin and toilet, the other bedroom had a separate washroom.The beds although very comfortable were too soft and the room a little too hot. I kept a window slightly open to get a nice breeze.

There was a room on the side that was available to the guests with a wide verity of books to read as well as a stocked mini bar fridge with soda pop and water. And cookie snacks. You could set up your laptop here or use the phone.

Otherwise, this is a nice BnB to stay at. As it only has 2 rooms available, booking in advance is a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 28 Carlotta Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1L 6S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed to our traditional home, furnished with a mix of antique and contemporary pieces, accented with the work of Canadian artists and artisans. We are located on a quiet street, within walking distance of downtown, close to public transportation and half a block from the Rideau River Cycling Path. Delicious breakfasts featuring local produce and home baking are served in the formal dining room or on the deck, under the maple tree. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list