We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than I anticipated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 Carlotta Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1L 6S6, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free gourmet breakfast
Ranked #7 of 60 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Sarasota
2 reviews
“So much better than I anticipated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Shirley Samantha's exceeded my expectations in every way. I felt pampered because Cynthia had thought of everything I could possibly need & more--the cookies were awesome! This is my idea of what a small b&b should be, & the short bus ride to downtown & Parliament Hill turned out to be easy.

Room Tip: Crabapple Room with hall bathroom make an excellent bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
26
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

From the outside this B&B looks a little inconspicuous and there is just a little tripadvisor sign in the door window indicating that this must be the B&B you are looking for. But the inside is really awesome.

It is an elegant furnished housed with big and very comfortable guestrooms. Everywhere in the house you’ll find interesting art objects. Cynthia is a very well-educated and sympathic woman which you’ll find in the kitchen most of the time. This is probably the reason why she is such an excellent cook. Her breakfast is really really delicious (yes, one really was not enough)!

I think no four star hotel – neither the rooms, nor the cooking – can compete with Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast. I travel frequently, but up to know didn’t find a comparable B&B. If I should ever visit Ottawa again, I’ll definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

As part of a driving trip around Canada, we stayed 2 nights here to see Ottawa and was very pleased with our stay. In total we stayed at 7 different B&Bs across Canada and this one was definitely the best overall. Very comfortable room, friendly hosts, great location for seeing the city, clean and excellent value for money for the service we received.

As for the food, simply excellent. It's so easy for a lot of B&Bs to give you bread and let you get one with your own breakfast, but the food (several courses) we were brought (literally served to us) was fantastic! Very well presented, great variety, and delicious. Being vegetarian wasn't a problem either.

If you want to stay at a B&B in Ottawa (or even at a hotel), you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We decided to have a stop over in Ottawa on our way home to Nova Scotia for our wedding anniversary. We found this BnB listed in a recommended brochure on Ottawa and decided to give it a try.

This is a charming, tucked away place. We did not have a rental and walking to the heart of Ottawa only took us 15-20 mins. The rooms were very well maintained and serviced daily. The breakfast had a European Style to it, very different. Our hostess Cynthia was very helpful, in giving us directions, places to see and do and took pride in her BnB, and you can absolutely see that in how very spotless this BnB was.
There is a park with a walking path across the street that was great for our last morning stroll before heading to the airport.

The bedroom that we had was very light, and spacious, it also came with its own a 3 piece bathroom : Shower, Basin and toilet, the other bedroom had a separate washroom.The beds although very comfortable were too soft and the room a little too hot. I kept a window slightly open to get a nice breeze.

There was a room on the side that was available to the guests with a wide verity of books to read as well as a stocked mini bar fridge with soda pop and water. And cookie snacks. You could set up your laptop here or use the phone.

Otherwise, this is a nice BnB to stay at. As it only has 2 rooms available, booking in advance is a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

After reading the reviews on this site we decided to give this B&B a try on our trip to Ottawa. I must admit that we were not disappointed at all, Shirley Samantha's lived up to our expectations. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, and had everything we could want. The breakfasts were yummy, not to mention an artful delight. It's easy to see that Cynthia loves her job!
The only drawback was that the bed was much too soft, but this is a stricly personal preferance and would not deter me from recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed at Shirley Samantha's for two days and were very impressed by the standard of the B&B.
Cynthia and Paul made us feel very welcome and they went out of their way to accomodate our 18 month old son. The room was very large, en suite with lots of little extra touches like books to read,music, access to a study with more books, boardgames, a phone for reasonable guest use. I was especially impreesed with the stocked fridge of soft drinks and homemade cookies that we could help ourselves to.
Upon our arrival Cynthia made many apologies for the fact the hot water had broken down which to be honest did not pose us any problems. She was constantly boiling water on the stove for our use and it was working the second day fine.

Perhaps the best thing was the incredible breakfasts that were served for us. Amazing Rhubarb Muffins and Blueberry pancakes amongst the delights on offer.
This B&B made our stay in what was a very picturesque and interesting city. A trip to Gatineua park is a must, entrance just minutes away and if you only can do an hour drive around it, it is well worth it.

B&B was great value and one the very best we stayed in among the 9 we stayed on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

As is written on the title of this review, it was the best B&B I've stayed so far, and I've done many travelling within Canada and throughout the world. The owners were very friendly and accomodating, that I almost felt like staying at a family's place. The room was cozy and charming, with a window facing the quiet street, and the private bathroom was very clean and well equipped. Across from the hall, there's a room with a fridge with drinks and waters, as well as home-baked cherry cookies and oatmeal cookies!!! You can also get plenty of information about the city by going through the travel guides and maps they provided in this room, or directly ask Cynthia and Paul.
The breakfast was absolutely fantastic: coffee, grapefruit juice, yougurt with rasberry, muffin, scone, peace chutney, and a very fancy plate which I forgot the name (Oops.)
The location is actually very convenient, right off the Cummingroad bridge, which is maybe 10 mins bus ride from Rideau Centre. The bus runs very frequently, and it's in a very safe neighborhood. I walked from the bus stop at around 22H45, and felt totally safe.
I've decided to return to the same B&B during the Tulip Festival, and I look forward to it. It's an excellent place, for a weekend get away from your hometown. I would highly recommend this place to anyone travelling there. Thank you Cynthia and Paul for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 28 Carlotta Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1L 6S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed to our traditional home, furnished with a mix of antique and contemporary pieces, accented with the work of Canadian artists and artisans. We are located on a quiet street, within walking distance of downtown, close to public transportation and half a block from the Rideau River Cycling Path. Delicious breakfasts featuring local produce and home baking are served in the formal dining room or on the deck, under the maple tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.