We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indulge

Indulge
4456 Limebank Road, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #424 of 2,142 restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Indulge is just a great place, nothing more, but certainly nothing less.

The appetizers are well thought out, well presented, and are a great opening to the rest of the meal. The main courses are well presented, and if you order steak it will be cooked exactly to your request.

The wine list is good, and for value I suggest the Rioja.

The staff are attentive and I personally recommend that you ask to sit at one of the table's in Anthony's section. He has a personality that is outstanding, and a sense of humor that is infectious.

From the moment you enter the restaurant, until you walk out the door, you are made to feel welcome and amongst friends.

We will be back often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    5
    7
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Please do 'Indulge'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a 'hidden gem' with a young chef who is well on his way to a bright career. Although it is located in Riverside south (Limebank), it is worth the drive. There are several housing projects developing in the area and they are very fortunate to have such a restaurant in their midst. We dropped in for lunch on a long weekend and there were 6 other patrons while we were there. The service was professional and the décor modern bistro-like. They have a nice cozy bar area as well. I ordered the pulled-chicken sandwich and loved every morsel. It was so tasty with a delicious BBQ sauce, caramelized onions, and the bun was light and fluffy. With a side of salad, it was perfect for lunch. My husband, who has more of a tapas size appetite, ordered the Indulge burger. He loved it and felt bad that he couldn't finish it; the portion size is very generous! It included some pea meal bacon, a truffle buttered bun and a fried egg. He also ordered a side of fries that came with a mayo-based dipping sauce; it had nuances of smokiness and hints of curry - a nice complement.
We reviewed the dinner menu and plan to return with friends and neighbours to try their dinner options. We anticipate the same quality food and service, along with their wine selections. Prices reflect the style and quality of food offered. They offer weekly specials on snacks and cocktails. Hopefully the word gets out and we continue to support this new restaurant in our area south of the city (not far from Manotick). Please go - we believe you will not be disappointed. They have a very nice website - check it out: www.indulgeottawa.ca.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Indulgence in Riverside South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The reviews seemed mixed on Tripadvisor but we live close by so definitely wanted to try Indulge. And we were very glad we did. Overall the food was excellent the service wasn't intrusive. I really liked that while everything was displayed perfectly on the plates the flavors matched the presentation. We tried the scallops with pork belly and the duck confit and both were superb. We shared a great desert-of-the-day. We'll be back soon with friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Really out of the way but worth supporting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a suburbanite, I strongly believe that good, non-chain restaurants located away from downtown deserve our support. This is one of those places. The cuisine is what I would call: Canadian bistro: salmon, steak frite, chicken, all of it well prepared but one frustrating notch away from great. The portions are generous, but not to excess and the prices are reasonable. Their cocktail menu has some very tasty and imaginative drinks. If you live nearby (I don't), please give them your patronage and hopefully it will blossom into a great restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“we will be back soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just enjoyed a great dinner at this restaurant on June 13th. Overall, the three of us were very pleased with our meals and service. I enjoyed the Seafood linguine, which had mussels, scallops shrimp and smoked salmon. The others had the scallop and pork belly entrée, and the chicken sou vide. The serving sizes are just right for us, and the menu offered a good selection. I like that you have a choice to order wine by the 6oz or 9oz glass. The décor is modern, and yes it was a little loud, but that was because of some very noisy children at a neighboring table, but we were there at 6pm, so that has to be expected. Just wish parents would at least try to get their kids to tone it down a bit in an upscale restaurant. The rolls that were served before the meal, were warm, fresh and delicious, as well as a cranberry flavored butter. We would have tried an appetizer or dessert, but we had birthday cake waiting back home for us. The prices were comparable to other similar type restaurants and in fact quite reasonable for a dinner menu. All three of us are looking forward to our next visit here, and so glad that it is right in our own community.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indulge also viewed

 

Been to Indulge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indulge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.