We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Ottawa hands down - and without the attitude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Supply and Demand Foods & Raw Bar

Supply and Demand Foods & Raw Bar
1335 Wellington Street West, Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 3B7, Canada
613-680-2949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 2,222 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Ottawa hands down - and without the attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

There is absolutely nothing negative about this restaurant. It's hip, yet very cozy. Service is wonderful and food is always cooked to perfection. Also, best beer around - order the local IPA in the oversized stubby bottles. Yes, menu is limited - duh, this is a sign of a great restaurant. Instead of trying to do everything half-assed, the chef prepares a few items without flaw.

It's a little pricey, but compared to its competition, is worth every penny. Vegetarians stay away - the food is rich and heavy on the animal products, yummm.....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We love everything that we ordered. Kale salad was excellent as was the pasta. The service was pleasant and attentive. Menu was somewhat limited, but reasonably priced for the quality of food. It may not be for everyone, check out the menu online first.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had heard good things about Supply & Demand so were very disappointed with our recent experience. A very limited menu...3 items but 1 was sold out, so the choice was either mackeral or pasta. The wine service was slow, our starters came at the same time as our mains, & the place was so loud we 4 had to shout at each other to be heard. The food was tasty, but it was over priced for what we had. None of us are interested in returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A disappointing dinner experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had an occasion to go out for dinner at Supply & Demand this past week, and I can honestly say that I have no idea what all the fuss is about.

Upon being seated we were immediately struck with how dimly lit the restaurant was. Only the raised tables near the window had the benefit of candles with the rest of the room relying on the dimmed ceiling lights. I actually had trouble reading the menu, and my eyes are not that old. We also quickly realized just how noisy the place was. I guess that the single open room with it's hard tiled floor reflects sound very well. Holding a conversation at the table was difficult.

The menu is very short, offering just 5 main course options, and a few salads and "small plates". We ordered the kale salad and charred Brussels sprouts, which were both well received, albeit quite simple dishes. For our mains we selected the barbecued chicken with octopus, and the mackerel, and this is where things got strange again. The chicken was a simple chicken thigh, and the octopus may have been barbecued, but it arrived quite burnt. It was a good-sized portion all sitting on a bed of rye berries. And if you're curious, while tender inside, yes, the octopus did indeed taste like chicken. The mackerel dish included a single fillet of fish - the smallest I have ever had at a restaurant. Atop the mackerel was an artfully arranged line of salad shrimp and tiny vegetables in a vinegary dressing, not unlike ceviche. But the amount of food on this plate was about one third of what was on the chicken plate. I find this very odd as I expect most restaurant mains to deliver a roughly equal amount of food.

Kudos to the restaurant for stocking only craft beers - you won't find a Molson, Labatt or Budweiser anywhere in sight - however they only carry one offering on tap from each major craft beer category. There was but one blonde ale, one India pale ale, one stout, one wheat beer, one fruit beer, etc. And with craft beer makers these days trying to stand out from the crowd, they tend to be over-the-top in seeking uniqueness - very bitter, too hoppy, overly wheaty, etc. So if you don't like the particular offering in your favourite category, you're out of luck. There are no safe or comfortable alternatives to fall back on.

There's always the wine menu, of course, but with the least expensive bottle of wine at $40, the markup must be 3 times or more here. Ouch.

The service was very good and our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, but this did not make up for a very disappointing overall experience.

In summary, I found Supply & Demand to be too dark, too loud, with a too limited menu and drastically unequal portion sizes. In a word: Mediocre.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“A memorable meal in a dimly lit place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The short menu is not a problem at all; there is something there for everyone. The food is absolutely beyond reproach and is served by friendly (but not obtrusive) and oh-so knowledgeable staff. A memorable meal. One very small quibble, the owners seem to have forgotten that we also eat with our eyes. The place is so dimly lit that we had to use our phones to be able to read the menu and I was at time unable to visually tell apart elements of my plate.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Supply and Demand Foods & Raw Bar also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Supply and Demand Foods & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Supply and Demand Foods & Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.