We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If pastries take your fancy ...........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin de Provence

Le Moulin de Provence
55 Byward Market Square, Ottawa, Ontario ON K1N 9C3, Canada
(613) 562-3325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #261 of 2,224 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Telford
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If pastries take your fancy ...........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is the place to go. We had lunch there, a very agreeable sandwich and drink. Then, if you fancy, a whole counter full of wonderful pastries, cakes and cheesecakes to spoil yourself with. I can't remember which one I had but it was delicious.
The problem is that I could eat them all !!
Go on, treat yourself :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Visit At Least Once, although Expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Barring the bizarre promotion of Obama's surprise visit to this place and the "OBAMA Cookies" for sale- I love the lively market feel of this place. They have a vast variety of cakes, breads, custards and pastries to indulge your sweet tooth, although they are pretty expensive. I got the blueberry layered Mille- feuille which was cooling and tasty and was not sickly sweet. They have a big outdoor patio overlooking the Byward market area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere for coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I had two experiences at Le Moulin de Province; on an evening after a dinner in the market area my husband and I stopped by for a cappuccino, which was very good. The next morning, we went back again for coffee and a croissant. The coffee tasted like something you'd get at a cafeteria (and not a good one at that) and the croissant was nothing to write home about for the price. The ones at the Wolfville Farmer's Market are stellar! If not for the cappuccino, this place would only deserve two stars.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Too expensive! Look but don't buy!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Some beautiful looking cookies and cakes but they don't taste as good as they look and cookies are $2.65 each!!!
Bought 8 cookies and 2 tarts for $32! Won't make that mistake again!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Cakes for every occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We just popped in for coffee and cake and were thoroughly satisfied.

The selection of cakes was huge, and there must be something for everyone. Bland it was not, very tasty and filling. Clearly the cakes are not prepared on the premises, it is a tourist trap in the centre of Byward market and ideal for resting your bones.

We paid $15 CAD for 2 x coffee and cake, I thought that was reasonable, for the location and selection on offer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Moulin de Provence also viewed

 

Been to Le Moulin de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin de Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.