We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Orléans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Martha's Brasserie

St. Martha's Brasserie
3095 St. Joseph Blvd, Ottawa, Ontario K1E 3W6, Canada
613-424-9199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best of Orléans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We keep coming back to this restaurant. It is quint and food is delicious. We enjoy haing a meal with our friends. If only it would serve meals past 10 PM. We would come here for after concerts at the NAC.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at St. Martha's Brasserie, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am glad you enjoy your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is one of my favourite restaurants. Good fresh food. Good variety to
choose from. A nice change from the usual chain restaurants. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at St. Martha's Brasserie, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi there and thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to pass them on to our staff!
Kind regards
Sandra MacInnis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
409 helpful votes 409 helpful votes
“Ottawa east end secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had friends who raved about this place and it was worth the drive. The layout of the restaurant is great for the size. There is a bar in front of the chefs so you can see what is being cooked. The tables are tightly packed together but this adds to the ambience. Service was great but not rushed.
The food was amazing. We had the Laverne pizza And the lean hamburger with frites. Both dishes were done perfectly.
They have a great selection of craft beers including some seasonal ones that were worth a taste. A small but good variety of wine selections.
This is a wonderful spot but you need reservations

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at St. Martha's Brasserie, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that we delivered on our mission - Good Food, served well.
Kind regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Went here on a whim, no reservation, on a recent Wednesday night. It is a small place and even though we were there early, it was quite full already. We were fortunate to be seated at the "Chef's Table".
The menu is eclectic, from moules frites and confit des canard to burger and fries and pizza. Being seated at the Chefs Table we were able to watch the preparation of all of them and they all looked very good.The Chef was one of the owners and was very busy, but meticulous.
Our meals were just terrific and the prep was explained to us by the Chef. We had the petoncles (scallops) and they were perfectly cooked and excellently presented and, the special of the day was stuffed saddle of rabbit, also excellent. A small, but well selected wine list is offered as well.
It was a real treat to be seated where we were, you could really get a feel of the goings on in a busy kitchen. I did notice that the plates the servers were bringing back to the kitchen were all empty...a very good sign of the quality of the food indeed, the patrons ate it all LOL.
We will return but, we will make reservations to make sure we get a seat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at St. Martha's Brasserie, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us! I look forward to hosting you again!
Kind regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I went a couple of weeks ago on a rare kid-free Friday night; when we arrived, we were politely asked if we had a reservation. We did not, so the gentleman offered to seat us at the bar. My initial reaction was to say no thank you and go somewhere else, but my husband suggested we try the bar. What a great pleasure to have been served by Dan at the bar. He recommended some wonderful wine to go with our meal, and was extremely attentive. The meal was incredible; my husband ordered the duck (I was hesitant, because all the duck I have ever tasted has been very salty), and he gave me a bite -- it was wonderful, not salty at all. I had the pasta with scallops, and it was done to perfection. We shared the apple crumble for dessert and it was perfect for 2. We have recommended this restaurant to family and friends, and we can't wait to get rid of the kids for another beautiful evening out at St. Martha's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at St. Martha's Brasserie, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi there and thank you so much for your review. I will make a point of thanking Dan on your behalf and ours as he has truly lived up to our mission: Good food. Served well. Our little place is our personal passion and we endeavour to provide all of our comments with this experience. I am very glad we met your expectations and thank you for sharing your appreciation.

Kind regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Martha's Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to St. Martha's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Martha's Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.