We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fresh natural cupcakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cupcake Lounge

The Cupcake Lounge
6 Byward Market, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #617 of 2,224 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh natural cupcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

One of my friends suggested that we go there to eat our dessert after a dinner to celebrate my birthday. The place is small but charming. The cupcakes look and are very good! You can tell they are handmade with fresh and natural ingredients.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have to say that when i saw the cupcakes i didn't think they looked all that great - but the cake is very moist and icing delicious!!! We had americano's with our cupcakes and have to say they were the best we tasted in the city! Highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great flavours, too much icing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I recently got a 4 pack of cupcakes for a friends birthday, and I loved the selection of flavours on different days during the week. The cupcakes were moist, and very tasty. But we all felt there was way too much icing on them and the sweetness overpowered the cake. Next time we just scraped off about half of it, and it was really good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Oh so yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is one of my "must go" when I'm in Ottawa a couple of times per year. The cupcakes are fresh, the icing is so good. This past time we had raspberry cupcake with raspberry icing, one with lemon/ginger icing, cookie dough cupcake and vanilla icing and a carrot cake one. If you're dining in the market area and you want a snack or dessert and you're a cake lover make sure to head over the the cupcake lounge. You won't regret it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soooo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As I strolled through the Byward market I came across this great cupcake shop. I asked the server for her recommendation between the red velvet or the dark chocolate with chocolate icing- her suggestion was right on. The chocolate on dark chocolate was rich with cocoa flavour, moist and very scrumptious.
I'll be back for more next time I'm in the capital.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cupcake Lounge also viewed

 
Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Been to The Cupcake Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cupcake Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.