We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, fun and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spoon Frozen Yogurt Lounge

Spoon Frozen Yogurt Lounge
111 Clarence Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #723 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The staff welcomed us with smiles and thorough instructions on the concept and pricing! Soooooo many options (healthy and/or not); it was fun and ended up costing much less that other ice cream shops. We will undoubtedly return!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Better than Menchies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Many flavours, many toppings. Paid $8 for two small (packed) cups. Good price. I would say this place is much better than Menchies on Merivale Rd. Great atmosphere. I especially loved the fancy chairs in front of the window. Staff was friendly, and very helpful. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sppon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Can't beleive some of the negative comments. they must be jealouse that they were not the first one to oppen in Ottawa.

Was there last night again with friends and the ambiance and the staff are just great. notwithstanding the great quality of yogurt. This is my new spot.
The staff last night told me that it is not a franchise. it is locally owned. Wow! they did a great jobs! It is so welcoming! I will go back again and again.
The yogurt was so tasty and it is all fresh yogurt.
Price wise,they are charging .55 cent an once which is pretty much the standard in Ontario
I noticed that they were also doing Crepes and waffles. I will try the crepes on my next visit... :)
They also mentionned that for the crepes it works the same way. i can create my own creation, pick any yogurt or toppings to put in my crepe. Can't wait for my next visit


You have to try this place

Brian

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Having frequented many frozen yogurt places throughout Canada and the states, I can safely say this place's frozen yogurt is 2-3 times more expensive average. Our bill came to $15, with us both being pretty conservative. Will put that dinner towards a really good desert elsewhere next time. This place currently has a monopoly in frozen yogurt in Ottawa, but once Tutti Frutti opens on rideau they are going to have to adjust their prices to stay in the game. For now, buy a cone and some 5 cent candies elsewhere for a fraction of the price for the same basic thing.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average food, but nice experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I visited Spoons with my friends yesterday because we wanted a place to sit and hang out for a bit after dinner. It was a nice experience - for .55 per ounce, you can get your desired blend of flavours and toppings (the big cups and fast dispensing can lead you to serve yourself more than you would have intended, but that's business.) The atmosphere is nice, especially the armchairs at the front of the store, and it is very clean. Yes, the frozen yogurt itself is "just okay" (most of the flavours appear to have more colouring than real flavour ingredients in them) but the opportunity to create your own ice-cream sundae from is a nice gimmick. Still, for the same price, you could head to a real frozen yogurt or ice-cream or gelato place (might I recommend "Stella Luna?") and have something far more delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon Frozen Yogurt Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Spoon Frozen Yogurt Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spoon Frozen Yogurt Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.