We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a better patio.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir John A Pub

Sir John A Pub
284 Elgin Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 2,288 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Needs a better patio.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall it is a good option on Elgin. We've been several times, chicken parmagna is good for a pub as well as the club sandwich and Thai salad. The burger is nothing special. The selection of beer is better than other pubs in the city. My biggest complaint is the patio.... The tables are old an bad condition an the floor is uneven. They need to remodel the patio an change the furniture outside. I understand the patio season is short, but this would be a good investment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Recommendation of the Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this pub that was only a couple of blocks from the Lord Elgin. Inside or outside, there was no bad seat in the house. Lots of energy and good people watching.Everyone had great food (what a mix of pub grub) and a decent enough selection of drinks and of course beer. Service was a little slow on the food, but the company was so good, we barely noticed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was a really nice little bar and the staff was great. I wish we had something like this near where I lived.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
“Good pub but not for Sens Game”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Food was good. Beer was good. Staff was great. The problem was that the TVs are not on the same time. The TV on the patio is about 4 seconds ahead of all the TVs in the bar. This makes watching playoff hockey very difficult and frustrating. Imagine wondering why everyone outside is cheering, only to find out 4 seconds later what happened. Then once you realize this fact, every time there is a close chance for your team to score, you know it didn't happen because no one is cheering on the patio! Really annoying. I personally spent over 100 bucks there last night, along with about 1000 other people. Why could the bar not spend a couple hundred to have the TV on the patio hooked up to the same feed, instead of just using the antenna built into the TV to save a few bucks and ruin the experience for everyone in the bar? If there had of been anywhere else to go (that wasn't completely full) I would have left!! If the TV outside isn't going to be on the same time, unplug it. Non-serious hockey fans will think this review is really lame, and I accept that. Others will know exactly what I'm talking about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent service and a good selection of beer on tap. Tried the fish and chips which were well served and in good sized portions. Very nice modern decor. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir John A Pub also viewed

 

Been to Sir John A Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir John A Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.