We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brothers Beer Bistro

Brothers Beer Bistro
366 Dalhousie Street | George and Dalhousie, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7G3, Canada
(613) 695-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 2,288 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stylish Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stylish twist on the classic bistro, a large beer selection. Beyond the beer selection, their mixed drinks have killer twists too. Certainly the best Cesar drinks in Canada. Menu is petite, diverse and fabulous. Enjoyed the veggie dish that had lemon spaetzle in it, crazy good! Music selection was a bit odd. Definitely worth trying!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    33
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average place with good beer selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The place is loud and cumbersome. You don't get that right vibe. It doesn't feel warm or inviting. Where is the love?

I visit Ottawa quite frequently and always try new places but I'm always going to the wrong ones or on the wrong nights.

I do admit their beer selection is outstanding. I also enjoy their innovative beer cocktails.

Staff needs to loosen up, fix the acoustics, and relax. It's a beer bistro! Enjoy your craft.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unwelcome diners at empty brothers bistro”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a horrible experience at brothers and will never go back. We arrived at 5:40 Mar 19. There were no customers present. The hostess asked if we had a reservation and we said no. My friend asked if we could sit by a window. The hostess offered us the table closest to the entrance. We felt this would be too cold. Then she wanted to put us right beside the kitchen door. Also not ideal. Grudgingly, and very concerned about the reservations that she had for later, she sat us at another table by the window. We were a bit annoyed and explained what happened to the waitress. She proceeded to explain that she wasn't scheduled to work yet and we were sitting in her section (keep in mind there are no people in the restaurant). Then she explained they need to keep the tables for 8pm reserved (keep in mind it is 5:40) in case people don't leave before the reservation arrives. Since we had already obviously terribly inconvenienced the hostess and the waitress, we left and went to Play. We sat at a lovely table, were made to feel welcome, and had a wonderful meal. What a difference. Brothers is a very new, sad little place. Very, very unfortunate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.John's, NL, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for beer lovers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

An amazing selection of beers, both bottled and on tap. The bartenders are clearly passionate about the beer. Food is also good, but maybe a little pricey. Don't come here for an intimate atmosphere, it is quite noisy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

It's so rare to find a beer bar that serves good food (or even a good restaurant that serves good beer) but Brothers has great beer and great food! Some say the prices are a little on the high side, but I would say they are worth every penny. And the exclusive beers they carry are fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brothers Beer Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Brothers Beer Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brothers Beer Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.