We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please Read - Do NOT Waste Your Money!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Ottawa - Laurier Guest House

Hostel Ottawa - Laurier Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostel Ottawa - Laurier Guest House to your Saves list
Hostel Ottawa - Laurier Guest House
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   325 Laurier Ave. E, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6P8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
GTA
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Please Read - Do NOT Waste Your Money!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I viewed this place months ago and could not believe my eyes. Please do not feel like this apartment or hostel would be a good choice for you because of the location. The location is OKAY; however, you are also dealing with an owner who refuses to fix any issues in his establishment. I would never recommend anyone to spend their $40 staying a night there, or even viewing the rooms to being with, because it will be a waste of time. There are so many other options within that price range in Ottawa. The owner is very rude and will not take any responsibility for his lack of taking ownership of his investment. Upon entering the property, I could smell a horrible smell of either mould and/or residue. He refuses to be flexible and has a "take it or leave it" mentality, which will never favour the customer. Please do not get sucked into his fabricated lies of his property, you will not be pleased. Clearly there is an issue when numerous people have written negative comments about his property and personality. It is unfortunate that we as citizens cannot fight against rude and disrespectful individuals who clearly take advantage of decent human beings.

Although I have rated him poorly for every category, this property is by NO means clean. He sits all day and lets his furniture gather dust and take in smelly particles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
1
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just to put it simply: do not go. While I am a university student, and may be used to substandard living, I realize how a business is supposed to function.

When arriving, I was asked to leave until I mentioned I was a paying customer. I was told to pay up front.

When I made it to my room, it was disgusting. The bed wasn't made, there was a stain on the mattress. Garbage and fast food wrappers were strewn across the floor. Flies were everywhere, and the room smelled of bong water and must.

I immediately left, demanded a refund, which was denied. I spent $40 to get eyed up, and be totally repulsed.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

This place is literally a slum-dwelling and not fit for any person to inhabit. It is dirty, there are RATS (which the owner claims no responsibility for) and smells horrible. The owner Deepak is incredibly rude and has no understanding of customer service or even normal etiquette and is completely unreasonable. I also believe he is sexist and has a problem with strong or assertive women. Horrible experience overall.

***DO NOT STAY AT THIS "HOSTEL" AND DO NOT, NOT, NOT RENT AN APARTMENT FROM THIS MAN.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

Attention, please do not stay at this "hostel." It is not a hostel which is insulting to all hostels everywhere, I rather sleep on a park bench. The photos are deceiving. The place is run-down, dirty and smelly. When we arrived for check-in, it wasn't even clean or even close. Left-over food, bug-infested, and smelly.

I stupidly made the mistake of paying for it and once I try to get my money back as soon as I arrive (decided to go to a different hostel as soon as I saw the premise) there were no refunds at all. Also, the price quoted is wrong and exorbitantly high for this slum - I got ripped-off! A one night stay will cost you about $60.00. There is an extra $2.00 charge for towels and $5.00 for parking. Go stay at the hostel on Nicolas Street for that price or a hotel. Once again, stay away from this "place."

  • Liked — None - horrible!
  • Disliked — Everything - horrible!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2004

This is a dreadful hostel akin to a slum. It certainly wouldn't meet public health standards and is a fire-trap. It is dirty, smelly and not even remotely like it's website description. The prices quoted are not what you actually pay per night. It is actually more expensive. You also have to pay $5/night for parking. The rooms are NOT clean and in disrepair. The carpet throughout the hostel is very dirty and reeks of urine. The kitchen is ill-equipped and also not very clean. The bathroom is barely functional and we only had limited access to hot water. It should be closed down and certainly not allowed to advertise itself as something it isn't. It is a disgrace that it is allowed to operate in the capital of Canada.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Ottawa - Laurier Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ottawa - Laurier Guest House

Address: 325 Laurier Ave. E, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostel Ottawa - Laurier Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hostel Ottawa - Laurier Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Ottawa - Laurier Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.