We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, but..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Museum of Nature

Canadian Museum of Nature
240 Mc Leod St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2R1, Canada
613-566-4700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 102 Attractions in Ottawa
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada's national natural history museum offers world-class galleries in a handsome heritage "castle". Marvel at dinosaurs and other ancient reptiles in the Talisman Energy Fossil Gallery. See grizzlies and other wild animals up close in beautiful dioramas in the Mammal Gallery. Observe hundreds of specimens in the Bird Gallery. See a real blue whale skeleton in the RBC Blue Water Gallery. Be dazzled by over a thousand gorgeous minerals and rocks in the Vale Earth Gallery. Peer at an eye-popping assortment of creepy crawlies in Animalium. Enjoy an action-packed 3D movie. Take advantage of numerous hands-on activities. Don't miss the special, travelling exhibitions. A superb destination for visitors of all ages!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience, but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Museum itself was great. What I did not like was the attitude of the staff. When we were in the room with all the stuffed birds, the security guard turned the lights off on us knowing we were in there, and they didn't start closing for ten more minutes. Pretty rude.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumofnature, Communications at Canadian Museum of Nature, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We’re pleased that you enjoyed the Museum overall. With respect to the lights in the Bird Gallery, all the lights and interactives in the building are automated, and are scheduled to turn off one hour after the Museum closes. It’s surprising to hear that this happened to you while you were still in the gallery. We are looking into the possible causes of that and will follow up with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    194
    58
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place - Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We go to the Museum a lot. I decided to hold an event there. I say repeatedly, how excellent the staff are. Plus the setting - magnificent. Interesting. Entertaining. Inspiring.
Why not go there?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My sons first museum visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

my son absolutely loved this place, you can spend hours in here looking at everything and reading and learning. 4 levels, my son loved the dinosaurs and there was a lot of space to move around in. there were places where he could interact. Very entertaining and i recommend to go and see it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our second trip to the Museum of Nature. The last time was years ago when it was still undergoing major renovation. Now that everything is complete it is just amazing!

There are 4 levels, plus one in the basement. We spent almost 4 hours here and still did not get to do the 2nd floor and the basement. There's just so much interesting stuff to see and do.

We started from the top and worked our way down. On the daily events calendar there were some Inuit activities going on, one which included learning to write your name in Inuktitut. The girl that was showing us was so lovely and answered all of our (ignorant) questions. We must have spent a good hour just here. We learned so much and it was one of the highlights of the day.

The bird exhibit is also up here, and just has such a wealth of information and interests adults and kids alike.

I won't talk about every exhibit, but I can tell you that all the ones we saw were just so interesting and there was never a boring moment. Our kids could've stayed all day if we let them, but since we already had other plans we had to cut our visit short.

There was also an igloo building activity going on on the main level and there were some displays of Arctic plant life and also a table with displays of Lichen. It was amazing to see the plants that grow that far north. You wouldn't believe some of the beautiful flowers that grow there! The people here were also so wonderful and really engaged the kids.

We learned so much and we really could have spent the whole day here. It's really important to talk to the people at the exhibits and not just do a walk through. All the people we spoke to were so instrumental at making our visit so great and that much more interesting. We learned so much here in just those few hours!

Street parking is free on Saturdays and Sundays; otherwise there is also a pay lot. I suggest getting there early if you want to find the free spots.

You will not be disappointed coming here. I can't recommend it enough. It is such a beautiful museum and is good for visitors of every age!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Entertaining, Interesting, Great for Lower Teen Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Canadian Museum of Nature is located in a beautiful building on the way to downtown Ottawa from the 417. The different museum sections are well defined, with a whole floor dedicated to dinosaurs which my son really enjoyed. The place is easy to find, easy to visit and there is plenty of ways for the kids to interact, learn at the same time as being entertained
We also managed to park for free in the street close by since it was on Saturday, which is a great plus.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Museum of Nature also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Museum of Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Museum of Nature, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.