We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Did They Prosper?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Billings Estate Museum

Billings Estate Museum
2100 Cabot St, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613-247-4830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 102 Attractions in Ottawa
Type: Historic Sites, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic home of Braddish and Lamira Billings, built circa 1827-1828, who were founding settlers of Ottawa.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“How Did They Prosper?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Braddish and Lamira Billings must have worked LONG hours back in1813 to achieve what they did at a time in history without all the power tools we have today. To a Vermonter, the house seems so normal. It looks like many of the homes in use today in our own beautiful state. The tour guides are well-rehearsed, and obviously enjoy their jobs. They even took us up into the attics to show us what had been saved over time. That must seem strange to young people in our throw-away society. The women of this family seem like they really had power. I wonder if the Billings were conscious that their home would be a destination for future visitors to Ottawa? We visited during Doors Open Ontario, and the tour groups were large. I would recommend going on a quieter day to get a better feel of the place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit and afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently visited the museum and were impressed by the displays. Although small, they were well done and informative. The surrounding area is lovely, although just starting to green-up when we were there.

It was a cool day so the regular afternoon tea was being served in one of the lovely upstairs rooms. We hadn't planned on staying for tea, but the enthusiastic staff were pleased when we changed our plans. The tea was lovely, mis-matched cups and saucers added to the charm. All wonderful home-made goodies and sandwiches and scones. The only thing I missed was honey for my tea. It's a great bargain compared to other teas I have done, but a little simpler. The staff was not able to take tips as they are employees of the city, but directed us to a donation box where we left the equivalent of a tip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Robbie Burns day was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I loved the staff, the attention to detail, the whiskey tasting and overall the fabulous burns supper in the old ballroom of this great museum. Worth a visit anytime folks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Billings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

very informative on how people lived in that era. Very clean and beautiful grounds. I was impressed with the artifacys from a long time ago.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth taking the time for a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

One of the oldest of homes in the Ottawa area. Lovely quiet setting hidden away behind a shopping centre on one side and a busy 4 lane road on another.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billings Estate Museum also viewed

 

Been to Billings Estate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billings Estate Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.