We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you can afford it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookstreet Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brookstreet Hotel to your Saves list
Brookstreet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Legget Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2K 2W2, Canada (Kanata)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Best Available
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you can afford it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Super clean and modern. The food is amazing. Balcony suites available.
Only downfall is price (but it is a luxury hotel, no doubt) and location. If you need the be in west Ottawa it's the nicest hotel for sure. If you're a hockey fan you'll love it as lots of players stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our amazing food. For great deals on the hotel you should check out the ‘Brookstreet Packages’ available our website. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    246
    88
    30
    23
See reviews for
182
232
25
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the Brookstreet Hotel. When you pull up to the front doors of the hotel you are immediately welcomed and the doors are opened by two friendly young men. We realized we had arrived at a well run hotel. All the staff were friendly, accommodating and seemed eager to make our stay a pleasure. Our room had a lovely view of the Marshes golf course, the Ottawa River and the Gatineau Hills. We had two room service breakfasts which were delivered promptly while they were still hot. I agree with other postings that you get charged extras for parking and internet, but that was not a deal breaker for us. Prompt service, fast and available elevators, convenient parking in a well lit heated garage, great beds in comfortable rooms which seemed quite soundproof, far outweigh charges for internet. We took our computers to the lobby once during our stay and took advantage of the free wireless to catch up on some emails. I look forward to staying here again on my next visit to Ottawa!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us and thank you for such a great review of Brookstreet. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The facility is very nice however the staff could learn some lessons in smiling. Spa services were below average based on my personal experience and in one case I have grave concerns for the approach, maturity, and professionalism of one of the providers.
Arrived at hotel and then felt nickle and dimed for amenities which I am accustomed to having included in other cities like Edmonton, Calgary, and Vancouver to which I travel regularly.
Parking charges, internet charges, local call charges....

Room Tip: room was much too hot there was little adjustment possible with the thermostat and temperature was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We were disappointed to read your comments as we take great pride in exceeding our guests’ expectations. Your comments will be shared with our Operations team for review. We hope you will consider visiting Brookstreet again in the future; you may want to check out our all-inclusive packages on our website, some of which include WiFi and parking. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here five nights. Clean, functional room - good large layout. Excellent gym, and restaurants. Professional staff. Reasonably priced parking. Usurous charges for Internet.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you will stay with us again in the future. We do offer complimentary wireless Internet access in our lobby, B Café, Options Jazz Lounge, and other public areas that you'll hopefully be able to take advantage of during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a conference this past June, 2012. While one would have to be prepared for the fact that this is not local to Ottawa by any stretch, without a car and at least 25 minutes to travel to the city centre, Brookstreet does a wonderful job of keeping their guests comfortable during their stay. For a conference or business meeting, it is a perfect way to prevent the temptation to disappear from the day's agenda, and still to offer the ability to take sensory fill by the offer of the the glorious views of the Gatineau hills in the horizon.

The room I stayed in had an interesting layout with a rare balcony, however, I would say that the room stayed a little dim throughout the day, and for tired eyes, I really found that the bathroom lighting could have used some more intensity. The bed was most comfortable, and the housekeeping staff were friendly.

The restaurant had a nice menu, and a very lovely buffet lunch. The only problem with that lovely buffet was the accessibility of the food. It was placed in an awkward place that caused excessive line-ups during the peak hours. During the conference, I was unable to eat one day to to a limited amount of time I had available to do so. My other concern was that as a vegetarian, the banquet staff did not understand the need to supply an alternative protein and in this day and age in such a modern venue, I would have expected that the chef could have looked to legumes and quinoa for example, rather than a bowl of hulled sunflower seeds that a sympathetic chef finally delivered to my table after trying to explain my uncomplicated needs!

The check-in and check-out was very easy and efficient. Navigating the hotel to the various meeting rooms was easy, and I rarely had to wait for an elevator. There are plenty.

An added treat was a hint provided by one of the hotel staff. There are several mountain bikes available to use during your stay (as available), and entires to biking trails are close-by. They don't really advertise them, but they are very decent bikes! True adventure seekers could follow the trails into the city of Ottawa, or stay closer to nature in Kanata for a nice break from hotel if needed.

Room Tip: The balcony suites are lovely and large, but have an unusual layout on the curve of the hotel struct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We added the mountain bikes to the hotel this year and we have had many positive reviews from guests who have taken advantage of them to explore the bike trails close by. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brookstreet again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight for our anniversary. When we entered our room we were surprised to see that there was a Happy Anniversary card on the desk along with some treats. This was totally unexpected and a very nice surprise.

The hotel has everything that you could want, we didn't have to leave once we got there. We enjoyed the saltwater pool, ate at Options Jazz lounge and enjoyed the music of Ori Dagan.

The food is a bit on the pricey side, but it is 4 diamond service and cuisine. Our room on the 17th floor had a great view and the bed was so comfortable that I am looking at buying the identical mattress

Will go,again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are glad to hear that you had a great anniversary celebration with us and would like to thank you for such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brookstreet again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is in Kanata - which is a NOT within walking distance of downtown. It was okay as I was participating in a conference (the location ensured participants didn't get sidetracked by downtown temptations) however, in the "off hours" there was nothing close to the hotel to see. Luckily I had access to a vehicle to get me into the heart of downtown.

BUT...if location is NOT a necessary requirement of your travel (unless you have business in the high-tech world of Ottawa...then this hotel is ideal), I must say that the Brookstreet Hotel was very clean, updated (loved the birch tree motif) and the staff were super friendly and helpful. For this particular trip for me, the location was the only bad thing about this experience. Had I had more time I would have hit the pools (which I have *heard* are salt water??) and the Spa... they also have a well equipped gym (I peeked in the window :).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are located approximately 20 minutes from Ottawa’s city centre, making us conveniently located for those who would like to unwind and escape the hustle and bustle of downtown. We’re glad our partners enhanced your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon so you can experience the saltwater pools at Flex Fitness Studio and relax at Au Naturel Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookstreet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstreet Hotel

Address: 525 Legget Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2K 2W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Kanata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookstreet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Brookstreet, Ottawa's leading four-diamond hotel, golf, spa, wedding and dining destination. Guests are invited to experience Canadian cuisine in Perspectives Restaurant, live jazz and sushi in Options Jazz Lounge, enjoy a Starbucks coffee at B Cafe, play a round on The Marshes championship golf course, executive short course or putting course, burn some energy in Flex Fitness Studio or our ZONE 525 games room or simply relax with a rejuvenating treatment at Au Naturel Spa, or in our dry saunas, whirlpools and saltwater pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Brookstreet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstreet Hotel Ottawa
Brook Street Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookstreet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.