We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ottawa has the Longest River and Parkway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ottawa River Parkway

Ottawa River Parkway
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 235 things to do in Ottawa
Activities: Biking, Inline skating
Attraction details
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Ottawa has the Longest River and Parkway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ottawa River Parkway is open during our four seasons. During the Spring season the Festival of Tulips is a great place to take your children for a variety of activities along the Parkway for example boat floatila and face painting. You can see a variety of boats at Dow's Lake and get good food at the Dow's Lake and National Arts Centre Cafe.

During the Summer season the River Parkway is filled with cyclists and people with rollerblades every day of the week. On Sunday the roads are closed to traffic to give even more room for the cyclists. They also hold races for donations.

All along the River Parkway during the Fall, we have a beautiful variety of trees with a kaleidascope of colors. Great pictures for amateur and professional photographers.

The Winter Carnaval has a variety of activities on ice. The Canal is the longest skating rink in the World. We have races, professional skaters and ice sculpture contests. All along the Canal you can smell and taste our fabulous beaver tails and hot chocolat. During a two-week period in February there are scheduled events every day.

For a schedule of events contact the City of Ottawa.
We have shuttle buses on certain days.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    77
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lantzville, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Skating on the Rideau at Winterlude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On a recent trip to Ottawa my partner and I took a trip down memory lane to ice skating as kids on the Prairies in Alberta, Canada. It was Winterlude in Ottawa, a celebration of winter where one large attraction is the freezing of the Rideau canal and preparing it with scrapping and sweeping for skaters. This lasts about two weeks and is well serviced with change rooms, eatery stalls (the Beavertails are traditional and GREAT), skate rentals and sharpening and kilometers of open ice. We skated at the Fifth Street entrance all the way to Carleton University and back! Once we got our ice legs and some rhythm it was like the old days, wind in the face crisp and fresh, the power of the skate stroke and the joy of holding hands swinging along. Only thing missing was the old rock and roll music on the crackling speakers at the rink :-). We returned to Beavertails and cocoa and left with a warm heart and fond memories. This is to be treasured for anyone who has ever skated and if you have never.....this is a must see.

Glen

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great for bicycling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

There a great fall, many student like to go there between classes and soak up the sun. Bring your bike and ride around, or just stroll around.

It's quiet most times, and you can see some beauty of the place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Jewel of Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Majestic, nostalgic, magnetic, inspiring, beautiful, and colurful Mcdonald Parkway is so awesome and it is a good way to travel out and about Ottawa. It's why so many people got to Ottawa! I'm always exitied about driving by the islands Island park,Gatineau, and the Fantasic Ottawa River.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ottawa's local gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Local Ottawans love the parkway for all it has to offer; greenspace, bike and walking paths, small inlets where wildlife is abundant, and a route downtown that is truck-free. Anywhere along this route is great for having a pic-nic, feeding ducks, fishing, ... even in winter you can ice-fish or cross country ski.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ottawa River Parkway also viewed

 

Been to Ottawa River Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottawa River Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.