We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't ask for better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Business Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Business Inn & Suites to your Saves list
The Business Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 MacLaren Street | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P0L3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
New Brunswick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can't ask for better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

When we got there, check in was quick, parking is underground 12$ a night. lots of space to park. Staff was super helpful and answered all our questions. wrote on the map every site we should see and which bus to take.
Let me just say that the rooms are enormous. Its like an appartement, it has every thing you need including dishes, stove, microwave, Toby, computer with printer, toaster,coffee maker and i could go on. location was great, close to the parliement and Centre Rideau (10 min walk).
The rooms are a little noisy, you can here people outside (we were on the third floor) but beside that, everything was great.
Breakfast was good with a good variety (eggs, french toast, bagel...).
We would definitly go back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    168
    27
    16
    3
See reviews for
115
203
54
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I were travelling around the East Coast of Canada and this was our first time in Ottawa. Not knowing the city at all, I went to Trip Advisor for help and came across the reviews for the Business Inn.
I consequently booked our two nights there and we were not disappointed. Some of the reviews did state the noise coming from Elgin Street did impinge on a good night's sleep, hence I requested a room on a high level. This did not happen and we were placed in a room on the 2nd Floor overlooking Elgin Street. However, being week nights that we were staying in Ottawa, the streets were not too busy and noise was not a problem.
The room was very large, bed very comfortable and bathroom spotlessly clean.
The continental breakfast was certainly adequate.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Location excellent - 10 minute walk from Parliament House, river etc.
Very good bars and restaurants around hotel.
We would have no hesitation in staying at the Business Inn again or recommending it to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We have 2 school aged children and need to stay in a suite as it makes it much easier. This was a great hotel. The rooms were huge. We had a jacuzzi tub (kids loved it), full kitchen, free use of a computer with a printer free paper, ink etc as much as we wanted inc free Wi Fi for our lap top. Continential breakfast was great not your usual hotel breakfast (included in the price). Rooms were clean and the staff had awesome customer service skills. Used the free laundry service including soap. ( Unheard of!!!) The only down fall is the bedrooms did not have T.V.'s in them. I think they need to be added even if it is not a large one. Location was excellent walking distance to the Byward Market, Rideau Center, Canal etc. I would stay there again. Great price also. I would recommend booking early because when we were checking in they had only one room left and they did not inflate the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We first had a room given to us which was located next to the elevator on top floor. Whenever the elevator arrived the noise was heavy. We felt as if it was going right through our room. When asking if we could be re-booked to an other room, this was done, however we had to pay 20$ more per night because this meant changing into an other category. The new room was facing the street and there was some street noise, however it was not too bad. The room was very large and excellently equipped, however the bathroom was rather aged. The building was an apartment building before it was turned into a hotel so all rooms are large. It seems however that the bathrooms haven't seen a renovation in the last 10-15 years. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was good too. The location of the hotel is excellent. Parliament hill is a stone throw away and there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

i only get to ottawa about once a year with a group of co-workers. generally i stay with the rest of the group but this year we came up a day late and booked our own place. just a couple of days before our trip we heard about the business inn and moved our reservation from the holiday inn (where we had a king room for $160/night, government rate). instead we were right on elgin st in a 700+sqft suite for $108! the bed was king size and incredibly comfortable. the pillows were so nice i even bought 2 to bring home with us -only $16/each! the cleanliness of the entire place was impressive. every staff member i interacted with was incredibly friendly and helpful (mind you, every year i am impressed with the level of customer service we receive throughout ottawa). parking was available for $9/day above ground in a secure, lit and monitored lot or underground for $12/day. we had rogers cable service with over 100 channels and full internet access , all included. true, the room could use some work with the decor but i'd prefer it be clean than fancy. we also had a balcony overlooking the park next to the hotel which was quite nice. despite being right at a busy corner we had no issues with noise when sleeping. the ONLY drawback was the shower - water pressure was practically non existant and getting the correct blend of hot and cold was a serious challenge. once i got the right temperature it kept changing so the whole process kept me on my toes and moving fast. but the tub was a deep jacuzzi style which would have been nice, but i just didn't have time to enjoy it. because it was such a deep tub it could pose problems to an elderly guest or someone with mobility issues.
despite that, i wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again. in fact, we are now planning another trip so that we can spend a couple of days and enjoy the city and we'll definitely be staying at the business inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBIMANAGER, Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Dear Geeva,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return. We apologize for the recent water pressure fluctuations in our building. We believe that such water pressure fluctuation, is occurring because of repalcement work by the City of Ottawa on surrounding water supply pipes. The water pipes being replaced are only a few blocks away and we believe that, the temporary hook-up to our water supply of our neighbours, is causing the water pressure fluctuation. As a result of the Federal stimulus program, such replacement program is being stepped up and will continue for some time. To avoid fluctuatiing water pressure, now and in the future, we have immediately purchased and are installing this week, a powerful booster pump, which will ensure constant water pressure. We appreciate your business and thank you very much for your understanding and patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte,nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

we have stayed here on our visits to Ottawa in the past 15 years and have always been pleased with the staff and accomodations,

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

This was our fav hotel while in Canada. We booked a studio suite which was enormous, beautifully clean, well equipped(PC with free internet and printer in the room) and quiet.
Superb bed and bedding(nice down feather duvet and pillows, NO cheap fleece blankets here!!!!) helped to have a very good night sleep!
Buffet breakfast was on the average side and could be improved but nonetheless fills the hole! Hotel staff was very polite and more than helpful at all times!
Excellent value for money! And we shall be back...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 MacLaren Street | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P0L3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Business Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.