We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Business Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Business Inn & Suites to your Saves list
The Business Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 MacLaren Street | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P0L3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked a suite here to run a one-day small company retreat. They were incredibly accommodating about getting us the room early, and very friendly on the phone.

The suites were well equipped, the hotel conveniently located and the staff extremely friendly. If you're looking for a business stay, this is an absolute must for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    168
    27
    16
    3
See reviews for
115
203
55
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Business Inn Ottawa for an extended period of time for work purposes. True the building itself is a bit older, but the location, friendly staff (especially the dedicated and extremely knowledgeable JP. Rousseau), ample parking and amenities more than compensate for this. My large studio-type suite was very clean and boasted complimentary full-tier cable, a large Sony Bravia Television and a computer with a printer. Complimentary breakfast is also offered daily between 0700-1000. I stayed there in the summer, spring, fall and winter months and considering the length of my stay, you'd expect some negative comments, but honestly-- I have none.
Everyone really made me feel at home and took good care of me. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: My room did not have a balcony. As a non-smoker (you can't smoke indoors in their rooms) this d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Morty1269

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
Your Friends at TBI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was told to stay here by our company and wasn't overly excited based on the pictures however I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived for the weekend conference. I got a street parking spot next to the hotel so parking was free. The service was friendly and helpful - the breakfast was average but hey it was included so that is a plus and the room had two large screen sony TV's with full cable and the room was larger than I could effectively use. Dining room suite, nice functional kitchen, two pull out couches. The location was central with lots of dining and drinking options within walking distance on Elgin - highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I was in 702 and it was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear DivingDad13,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
The Business Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife stayed at this establishment recently and found it to be very well located, very clean and comfortable with all the amenities (comfortable bed etc. etc.) anyone would need to be more than satisfied. Cost for value in today's hosptality industry is excellent. Front desk staff were very young, helpful, engaged.and enthusiastc. An added bonus was a very palatable hot and cold breakfast held in its own enclosed area included in the room rate. Computer and printer in the room was a plus. Marketed as a hotel for business people but feel it also serves couples as well as families for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Stephen559740,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
The Business Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I don't think I have ever stayed in a place with my own COMPUTER AND PRINTER in the room.... Plus not just an iron and ironing board, but a steamer also? And coffee maker, toaster, micro, fridge, full-sized oven, anything you could ever need.

VERY comfortable bed with good selection of pillows. Huge TV screen. The gym is small, but functional. The breakfast room is a little cramped, but there is a lot of variety, and there are "grab and go" packs if you're running late for a meeting.

It is above a very popular pub/restaurant, and right off Elgin Street, so anything you could need is in walking range. However, was very quiet. A good night's sleep.

It was a good price, good service, friendly people, strong and steady internet. I was 100% satisfied.

Room Tip: As always - go check out the room first, and usually an upper floor is a better view. I was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear ValerieGW,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
The Business Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I had a huge "executive suite", it had a great lay out and was very clean. I will definitely stay here again. The breakfast room with hot and cold breakfast choices was a great addition. And I couldn't find a betterproce downtown.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Daniel Y,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
The Business Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were in Ottawa for the Army run for just two nights and the accomidations were great. If we were staying long then I would say the accomidations were perfect as they provided all the ammenities of home. Great location, huge space. For someone travelling on business on on an extended stay this is great value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear TeamMFamily,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
The Business Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 MacLaren Street | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P0L3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Business Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.