We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment style rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Business Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Business Inn & Suites to your Saves list
The Business Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 MacLaren Street | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P0L3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Apartment style rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This hotel offers large apartment size rooms with kitchenette, a livingroom with leather couches (one pullout), dining room and a balcony. Located just a 10 minute walk from the parliament buildings and downtown shops and the market and right across from Yuk Yuks Comedy Club. The connected pub/restaurant offers excellent pizza and other faire - room service too! The rates are also great!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    189
    31
    17
    4
See reviews for
136
222
63
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed in a signature suite with my daughter, she was very happy to have the sofa bed which gave her her own space. The bed was very very comfortable. In fact I usually don't sleep well in hotels so I never set the alarm and I actually slept in. I agree with other reviews as this isn't a 5 star luxury hotel but its a 5 star in every other aspect, for service, cleanliness,
amenities of computer, printer etc. Large screen TV (although I had a bit of a time operating the 3 remotes, had to have my daughter fix the bedroom TV a couple times when I pressed a wrong button). The hotel is in a good area, but a bit of a distance from the touristy feel of Parliament buildings etc but an easy walk. Lots of restaraunts nearby. My room requests were accomodated beyond expectation. Breakfast a very nice touch. Great value for money staying here. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed at the Business Inn for a short stay, with my husband. Room was very spacious, well furnished, neat and clean. Room had a PC and a printer in the room along with a business desk - this was useful for the occasional internet search that we needed to do to find places in Ottawa. Bed was large, and very comfortable. Kitchen was neat and clean with a complete set of dishes, pots and pans. Lots of clean towels in the bathroom, and good room service. Breakfast was available at 7 am with a good choice of bagels, french toast, waffles, cereals, fresh fruit. Very prompt service at the front desk.
Amazing value - would stay there whenever I need to visit Ottawa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The hotel doesn't, in my opinion, match up to the 5 star ratings some have given it, but it's reasonable value for money given its excellent location. Good points: it's very well placed for Ottawa (which we thought was a lovely city); the staff were pretty good; the rooms are large and there are balconies. Not so good: it does show its age, although the main rooms have been renovated reasonably well; the breakfast was very basic.

I'd recommend it on a value-for-money basis. Just don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

What a joy when we stepped into our room and had a full suite with PC, desk, printer, full kitchen, huge TV and furniture! Is designed for business people but we sure were comfortable. Reasonable price (even with the enforced parking prices - do factor this in!) $11 +. We also received a deluxe breakfast - one of the better breakfasts we've had on our trip. Location is good only 1km from center. Room was impeccable. Highly recommend. Gym very good too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very pleased. They've thought of it all. Room came equipped with everything you need and more (computer - with internet and printer, balcony overlooking Elgin St, king size bed - one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, full kitchen - fully stocked with dishes, pots, pans, soap, dish towels etc., and 2 big screen TVs with satellite). Hotel is lacking somewhat in the style department (a bit out of date) but I'll take spacious and cleanliness at a good price over style any day.

Only issue are the elevators - they are small, slow, and stuffy. No big deal really when you consider everything else you are getting and for such a great price. I'll be back for my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have stayed at the Business Inn at least 5 times over the past few years, and have alsways enjoyed it: conveniently located, spacious rooms. Each time we stayed there we noted that there was ALWAYS one elevator of the two available out of order, which made trips up and down very slow. On this visit it appeared that both were working, but alas, that was not the case. On our way to what would have been a special lunch on our last day in Ottawa, we spent 1 3/4 hours in the elevator! In the intercom conversations with the front desk, it did not seem that they were as concerned as they should have been in contacting the elevator company, which took SO long to arrive to extract us. It was a holiday weekend.
We will regretfully never stay there again. Have you ever spent 1 3/4 hours in a stuffy elevator? It is scary!
Considering the history of poor elevator service, the management of the hotel is irresponsible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 MacLaren Street | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P0L3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Business Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.