We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will ALWAYS be our first choice. :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashbury House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashbury House B&B
Save
You added Ashbury House B&B to your Saves list
303 First Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2G7, Canada (The Glebe / Dow's Lake)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will ALWAYS be our first choice. :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We don't have any words more, to commend this lovely HOME. Oh! The breakfasts were beyond delicious, but more was the genuine warmth of the hosts. Charmaine and George made us feel more at home than possible. Indeed! We wished we could have spent another night, but time would not permit it. Thank you Charmaine and George for the lovely UPGRADE! We very much enjoyed our time with you and assure you, we'll always look you up first. We have also recommended your establishment to friends and relatives! Thank you for making our 30th a most memorable one. BTW, Sheri and I keep in touch!

Room Tip: All rooms have en-suite/private bathrooms - a blessing for a B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George N, Owner at Ashbury House B&B, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments. It was a pleasure hosting you. Very best wishes with love, Charmaine and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ashbury House was the perfect place to spend our visit to Ottawa. I have traveled a lot, and can confidently say that George and Charmaine are simply the best hosts ever. They are friendly and generous and from the moment we met them it felt like we were old friends. Ashbury House is absolutely stunning and succeeds in balancing old world charm with modern amenities. Plus, the breakfasts were amazingly delicious. I grew up in the Glebe and this B&B couldn't be more perfectly situated; close to the canal, close to public transport, and nestled in the heart of one of Ottawa's best (and safest) neighbourhoods. This has most certainly become our home-away-from-home, and we couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our stay at the Ashbury House B&B was perfect - from the comfortable bedroom and cozy front porch, the delicious breakfasts, the charming and helpful hosts, to the great Glebe neighbourhood just 2 blocks from the front door - we look forward to our return, our return HOME !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Came to Ottawa to see our son graduate from Carleton University. We rented the apartment as we needed space as some family was joining us as well. Charmaine and George are excellent hosts and inn keeper. They invited our son to join us for breakfast, even if he has in own place in Ottawa, so we could spent more time as a family together. What a treat! The apartment is spacious, very clean provides privacy and all commodities you need to even prepare meals if you want to. The breakfast are delicious and they vary every day depending how many days you stay. We met very nice people from different parts of the world. This was very enriching. Thank you George and Charmaine for you kindness and special attention you provided during this very special occasion for us. You are right... life is not a rehearsal. We really enjoyed our time in your establishment and I recommend it 100%

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A family of 5 (kids ages 9,6 and 4) we stayed 2 nights at Ashbury House, and what a nice experience it was! Charmaine and George are so kind and welcoming. My kids really enjoyed the top stairs apartment! It is spacious and very clean. And my husband and I enjoyed the morning breakfasts, specially the interesting conversations with other guests, and of course the owners. I have to say this made our visit to the city much more rich.
The neighborhood is so pretty, and you can walk easily to restaurants and shops.
Thank you so much Charmaine and George for making our visit to Ottawa a very spacial one.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a delight to stay at the Ashbury House! The owners make you feel at home and the breakfasts are wonderful. When the taxi driver picked me up to take me to the airport at the end of my stay, he said "Everyone seems so happy when they come out of that house!" That says it all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you have to leave living in a place a great as Ottawa, you might as well end staying on a high note. All our stuff was in a truck on its way across the prairies, our apartment was rented out, emptied and cleaned, all that was left were a few nights saying our goodbyes. Charmaine and George were splendid hosts, eclectic and accommodating. C. came to our upstairs suite and delivered what goes down as the best apple pie slice I've ever eaten in my entire life. She later realised it would be travesty if the rest of the pie went unclaimed and we ate it all up! We also met the other guests, one of which was from Edmonton, our new city, and offered great ideas for newcomers. Generally, we have only pleasant things to say about this B&B in the Glebe.
Thanks Charmaine and George.
see you again
Armel, Sarah and Ninoc

Room Tip: the top floor suite has all it needs to be self-sufficient (kitchen etc.) for a few day stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashbury House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbury House B&B

Address: 303 First Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > The Glebe / Dow's Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide B&B accommodation as well as a furnished family apartment with kitchen. All guest rooms have ensuite bath rooms. Guests rave about the quality of the experience at Ashbury House, the comfort of the rooms including the beds, gourmet breakfasts, inspiring conversations, apple pie, Ceylon tea and antique furnishings. Ashbury House has been featured live on TV.An example of guest feedback: "Thank you again for an absolutely perfect stay at Ashbury House. I think you go beyond the exceptional in your hospitality and I know this is the rule and I was not an exception because the cab driver asked me about my stay. When I responded with superlatives, he told me it was the same with every fare he picked up there." Joan – California ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashbury House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.