We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa

Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa
555 Wellington St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 1C5, Canada
613 567-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very friendly and service was amazing. Food was fast and hot but didn't enjoy spinach/crab dip. Nachos were great though. They do tours but the hop on hop off guide didn't tell us they only do them at 5/530pm. The atmosphere was nice and we were in and out quickly in order to get the next bus :).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    146
    76
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Tried out this place Saturday and couldn't of asked for anything better, my steak was seasoned and grilled perfectly. Shrimp tacos were full of flavour. Our waitress Christine was very bubbly and knowledgeable of the types of bear and food choices. Always there for us and making us laugh.

Pretty noisy but there was a wedding going on upstairs with their music so I can understand. And boy was this place packed.

For sure will be one of my new hop spots to go to. Wanna try out their brunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer, slightly overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This place was within walking distance of our hotel so we thought that we would give it a try. A picturesque location in a nifty old building. I found the food excellent but you pay a premium for the atmosphere. Hopefully you enjoy it. It's a bit noisy but kinda cool. The service was excellent. I was a little put off by the prices. Kids meal was $7 and his root beer was over $3. I wasn't thrilled with the other prices either. Good food so I recommend it as long as you aren't looking for the best value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great eating in Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We yesterday went for dinner at MSBP and had the beef noodle salad and the masala chicken and both were excellent. The beef was a bit tough, but because it was so tastily seasoned, in fact, it was better to chew and savour the taste rather than the usual bolting down of something that "melts in your mouth". The masala was done to perfection and just the right degree of spiciness. Of course the beer was terrific. Our desert, the carrot cake cheesecake caramel thingee was a very tasty surprise as we ordered it more out of curiousity than expecting anything that went down well. It was in fact delicious. Really friendly and attentive service as always. We liked that the music outside was subdued enough that we could enjoy the tranquillity of a summer evening without sacrificing an upbeat vibe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Noisy brew pub with an interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Mill Street Brew Pub has an interesting history and fine location near the water, The pub is very noisy, but the wait staff is attentive if a little over friendly. ( Note to servers- I want you to wait on me- not become my new best friend) I ordered a very interesting salad- Indian Kale- It missed the mark of greatness, but was an interesting selection and I appreciated the flavor profile. My sister ordered a "Poutine burger"- she enjoyed it"s local flair. She also ordered a carrot cake cheese cake combo. It seemed like overkill to me, but after having a taste- it was delicious! We sat indoors, as it was very humid, but the outdoor patios seemed lovely. I would visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa also viewed

 

Been to Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.