We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great beer, slightly overpriced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa

Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa
555 Wellington St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 1C5, Canada
613 567-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 2,223 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer, slightly overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This place was within walking distance of our hotel so we thought that we would give it a try. A picturesque location in a nifty old building. I found the food excellent but you pay a premium for the atmosphere. Hopefully you enjoy it. It's a bit noisy but kinda cool. The service was excellent. I was a little put off by the prices. Kids meal was $7 and his root beer was over $3. I wasn't thrilled with the other prices either. Good food so I recommend it as long as you aren't looking for the best value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    133
    70
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great eating in Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We yesterday went for dinner at MSBP and had the beef noodle salad and the masala chicken and both were excellent. The beef was a bit tough, but because it was so tastily seasoned, in fact, it was better to chew and savour the taste rather than the usual bolting down of something that "melts in your mouth". The masala was done to perfection and just the right degree of spiciness. Of course the beer was terrific. Our desert, the carrot cake cheesecake caramel thingee was a very tasty surprise as we ordered it more out of curiousity than expecting anything that went down well. It was in fact delicious. Really friendly and attentive service as always. We liked that the music outside was subdued enough that we could enjoy the tranquillity of a summer evening without sacrificing an upbeat vibe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Noisy brew pub with an interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Mill Street Brew Pub has an interesting history and fine location near the water, The pub is very noisy, but the wait staff is attentive if a little over friendly. ( Note to servers- I want you to wait on me- not become my new best friend) I ordered a very interesting salad- Indian Kale- It missed the mark of greatness, but was an interesting selection and I appreciated the flavor profile. My sister ordered a "Poutine burger"- she enjoyed it"s local flair. She also ordered a carrot cake cheese cake combo. It seemed like overkill to me, but after having a taste- it was delicious! We sat indoors, as it was very humid, but the outdoor patios seemed lovely. I would visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner at Mill Street!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Probably the best experience I have had in a brew pub type restaurant and definitely the best pub experience I have ever had in Ottawa - and I've lived here a very long time. Great location, easy parking, and friendly and professional staff who actually knew what they were selling and actually seemed to care about customer service. They were packed when we got there and even though our waiter (Dan) warned us there might be a short wait for our meals, we got our drinks right away, our appetizers quickly and the main courses arrived in good time. We never felt rushed and we also never felt ignored (something that can be hard to achieve in a busy restaurant). Our waiter kept the drinks coming and even offered to replace a beer that I had ordered when I told him I thought it was a little light in taste. (To be honest the beer would have been great if I had been sitting outside on a really hot day but I was inside and it was nice and cool and I wanted a beer with a bit more body to it.) I finished the first beer and ordered another type - tankhouse that went perfectly with my main course.

As for my main course all I can say is that they serve quite possibly the best ribs I have ever eaten - fall off the bone tender and perfectly smoked and sauced. But be warned the portion is enormous so you might want to rethink the appetizers. I think the ribs are only available on Thursday so plan your visit accordingly.

Will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Best night ever. Awsome food great service. Very knowledgeable server...Andrew
thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa also viewed

 

Been to Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill St. Brew Pub Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.