We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanguiccio Deli Cafe

Sanguiccio Deli Cafe
183 Preston Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7P8, Canada
(613) 569-0456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 2,140 restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Excellent coffees, sandwiches made on the spot, excellent owner/chef. Very friendly place in the heart of Little Italy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OTTAWA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Unbelievable, i am obsessed. the sandwiches are phenomonal AND the owner, who is also the chef, makes your WHOLE sandwich from scratch right when you order it. nothing is premade.
THIS PLACE IS A MUST for anyone who likes to eat. I LOVE LOVE LOVE It

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“an incredible deli-café in little Italy, Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went to Sanguiccio Deli-Café for lunch, what an incredible place, just like such deli-café in Italy. The owner Genio is a great guy, has wonderful sandwich specials and great Italian drinks and espresso café. This deli-café has been featured in numerous magazines and papers, receiving great reviews. No wonder, the quality is tops, the owner makes his own bread from an Italian recipe giving you authenticity. Its a great place to relax and enjoy a great sandwich or salad. Everything is made on premises fresh, nothing artificial or frozen. Even the olive oil used in the preparation is premium. I highly recommend this deli-café, wonderful and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, charming owner, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Let me be clear--this is a tiny place with a limited menu and slow service. But all of that is actually good, because it means the food is high quality, simple and made with the utmost care and the highest standards. The friendly owner serves just sandwiches and drinks, including excellent coffee. There are perhaps eight to 10 choices of sandwich, all served on outstanding artisan buns; I had rapini and goat cheese with a delicious tomato-onion-basil-pepper spread. My kids weren't familiar with all the cold cuts on offer, so guess what? He cut them thin slices of everything so they could make up their minds. They also loved the Italian lemonade and other sodas. I have no stake in this--I just stumbled across it on a restaurant site when looking for takeout on Preston Street. And I'm almost afraid to tell others about it because I don't want the place to be overrun next time I'm in Ottawa. But even moreso, I want to see such a great, small, caring business thrive so...go check it out!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanguiccio Deli Cafe also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Sanguiccio Deli Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanguiccio Deli Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.