We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect one for short stay in Ottawa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Ottawa East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Ottawa East to your Saves list
Courtyard Ottawa East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect one for short stay in Ottawa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our first time in this hotel - last time we've been to Ottawa, we stayed in the neighbouring Hampton inn, were happy about it, but since it was booked for this visit, decided to try Courtyard.
Pros:
- Extremely large rooms and bathrooms, all clean, functional . The rooms are quiet, so you'll get a nice rest. Has a touch of luxury stay, as compared to more basic Hampton Inn.
- Parking is included in the price.
- Service - very good. Polite, professional, fast.
- Location - very close to downtown (minus a constant construction on Rideau!)
Cons:
- Breakfast could be included for the price. Really. (Hampton does!)
- If you are going to use a swimming pool - nice, but very small and too much chlorine.
- Location - if you want to go out, you do have to drive, as there is nothing to do in the area (unless you are there for tennis tournament, as we were - Rideau tennis club is really a walking distance). So, the price of downtown parking is automatically added to the price of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts of your stay with us. Just so you know, we don't decide whether or not breakfast is included, Marriott does. It is not a brand standard for Courtyards to provide breakfast, meaning we cannot offer it complimentary.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    79
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
71
36
10
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our standard room and bathroom was huge! The bathroom had a separate tub and stand along shower! I was impressed by the overall design of the room. The room was super clean and fresh! The wi-fi was good. I wished we could stay longer but we were passing through headed to Montreal. There is no free breakfast at this location but they do provide meals at their restaurant. Warning the food was kind of pricey for what you get. Other than that I would recommend staying at this location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank for you taking the time to share your thoughts of our Ottawa hotel. I'm happy to know that you enjoyed our spacious, clean guest rooms. Free breakfast has not been a part of the Courtyard brand standard for a few years now and while there may still be Courtyard's that offer it, new builds like our property would not. Marriott will continue to phase it out completely from all existing Courtyards.
Thank you again for your time and look forward to having you with us again.
Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel looks great! It's only about 18 months old and it still looks brand new. Service in Bistro is excellent. Service at front desk is spotty. One shift, excellent, next shift not so good. Overall I would definitely recommend! We were amazed how close to downtown it actually is. 7 minutes from Parliament Hill to the hotel. Well worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share you comments regarding our Ottawa hotel. I'm pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and our true closeness to the downtown core. If there are particular matters you would like to address regarding the front desk, please feel free to reach out to me.
Looking forward to welcoming you in the future, and again, thank you for your time.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I cannot write a review on this property without starting with how MASSIVE the rooms are!!! It's borderline crazy to be honest. They are easily twice as big as average Courtyard guest rooms. After having read the reviews about the underground parking ramp before staying here, I was anxious to see what all the fuss is about, as I expected, most people are seriously over reacting. Sure it's a little steep, but nothing to fear or gasp over lol. Free indoor parking near a city center far outweighs the extra five degrees of descent! Staff was very quick and friendly at check-in and check-out. The hotel is quite new so things are modern and functional. This hotel is perfect for a stay of a few days! I found the elevators to be slower than average and you're not really close to many dining options but these aren't major issues... If anything bothered me, it was the maid ignoring my DND sign knocking away at my door while I was napping to offer me another pillow lol... The 5 that came with the room was fine. All in all, I'll be back soon!!!

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was huge, clean and modern. I asked and was told it was a standard room... You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our new Courtyard in Ottawa. I'm delighted to know you enjoyed our uncommonly spacious guest rooms and complimentary parking. I appreciate your candid comments regarding our parking ramp and for sharing your perspective of that experience.
I hope we'll see you again soon.
Again, thank you.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard for one night. It was perfect for our stopover and to see the city.
The rooms are new, very big, quiet, clean and the beds are very comfortable (with a fully equipped kitchen). At the gym on the 15th (?) floor you have a nice view of the city.

Room Tip: Even the rooms on the "highway" side are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts of our Ottawa hotel. It's a delight to know you enjoyed our rooms and amazing view of the city from the 15th.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Canada Day weekend, with my husband and another couple and we were very happy with it. The room was huge, the bathroom large and very clean and one of the most important things to me.......the beds were very comfortable!!! I have chronic back problems and usually travel with a memory foam in my car, should I need it . This bed however did NOT need extra cushioning. I also love the bedding, no old school floral bedspreads that you never know when the last time they were washed was!

The location is not in the busy downtown of Ottawa, yet easily accessible to downtown, if you are driving. We had our own car, the parking was free at the hotel (another bonus), so I really couldn`t say how public transit would have been.

The breakfast was very good. We didn`t go swimming, but we did go to look at the pool area, which is very clean and well kept .

Special mention to Martin at the front desk for her courteous, pleasant and very helpful nature. My friend had made this booking through Orbitz.com and there was an issue concerning the price including breakfast and after lengthy phone conversations with both the hotel and Orbitz, it was resolved and we were told to ask for Martin when we checked in and he would be aware of the arrangements that were made and he took care of everything. Later in the evening when we returned and asked him for extra coffee in the room, since we were 4, he was so helpful and pleasant, even after many hours of already being on the job!! Great customer service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about our Ottawa hotel. I'm pleased to know you slept well, enjoyed your breakfast and appreciated our convenient location with free parking. Thank you for acknowledging our associate's attentive, pleasant demeanour. We are fortunate to have him, as well as all of our fabulous associates.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was there with my family, couple with 3kids and the room was very big enough for all of us. I feel I was in kempeski 7start, very clean, the personel at desk are very friendly and professional, and the restaurant breakfast was very affordable, the parking free, I really enjoy my journey there and I promise I will come back for sure... I am giving this hotel 7 start

Room Tip: king bed with sofa bed excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Ottawa hotel with the Trip Advisor audience. We're thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to having you with us again.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Ottawa East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa East

Address: 200 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa East 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa East is a brand new hotel, opened in March 2012. We are conveniently located at the corner of the Vanier Parkway and Coventry Rd., just off Hwy. 417 and minutes from downtown Ottawa. We offer complimentary parking and hi-speed internet access. All 397 of our stylish and uncommonly spacious guest rooms offer a mini-fridge, microwave and wet bar. Located on the 15th floor, check out our fitness centre open 24 hours. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from here and in our pool/whirlpool area also on the 15th floor. The Bistro restaurant is open throughout the day serving Starbucks coffee and fresh, healthy options. No matter what your time allows, you’ll have options to grab and go or sit and let us serve you. Come and see us! You won’t be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Ottawa East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.