We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't hesitate to recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Ottawa East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Ottawa East to your Saves list
Courtyard Ottawa East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wouldn't hesitate to recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We needed to be in the Ottawa area for the weekend and decided to give this hotel a try. I'm very glad we did.

It is a new hotel, open for less than a year, and very well maintained The guest rooms, facilities and public areas are in top shape and clean, they clearly take good care of it. Overall, the property is superior to a number of full service Marriotts I have stayed in. While my experience with other Courtyard properties has been mixed, if this is indicative of other new Courtyard properties, I would certainly check those out as well.

The lobby is warmly decorated and includes a separate lounge area with TV, as well as business centre and bistro.

Plentiful, free indoor parking is a nice bonus, especially in winter. However, it is attached to a conference centre, so I presume that parking might not be as easy when there is a function there.

Staff was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. For example, they readily agreed to our request for a late checkout.

Location is very good, close to attractions, shopping and restaurants, and right off the highway.

The rooms are well-designed, nicely decorated, spotless and roomy, perfect for families. Ours had 2 Queen beds (bedding was of good quality and comfortable) and was spacious, and also had a small fridge, microwave and sink. Here's a tip: rooms on the top floors of the hotel have a full tub and separate shower, which is also great for families. Free wireless internet worked well.

The pool, while small, is on the top floor and affords a nice view of the area, along with a hot tub and a surprisingly well-equipped fitness facility.

The lobby bistro has a varied menu along with a Starbucks counter and bar. It is also smartly designed for solo business travelers as it has a number of booths with private TVs. Prices are reasonable for a hotel restaurant (and kids meals are comparable in price to fast food while of superior quality).

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here next time we're in the Ottawa area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    78
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
36
10
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We did not really have high expectations for our stay at the Courtyard Ottawa East. Living in Ottawa, we know that service is an issue everywhere. Ottawa has to have the worst customer service in North America, but NOT here! Staff at front desk was very friendly as well as at breakfast the next day. The hotel itself is mint. It is one of the best Marriott Courtyard we stayed at. Great size rooms and mint condition. The hotel is a great addition to Ottawa East because the choice is not the greatest. If you plan on staying east of downtown Ottawa, this is the hotel you must book!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our friendly staff and spacious guest rooms. Looking forward to having you stay with us again!
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I came to this hotel on Canada Day last year because my daughter win a prize to meet Simple Plan and we were advised only 2 days before. Had to book the only room left on Expedia and almost in ottawa, when we arrived I explained the situation and they upgraded my room to a very nice room. Service, room, elevator, parking and overall experience was great. I don't think I will try other hotels if I'm able to get a room here. I will recommend this to my family, friends and anyone...is that good!!!.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for taking time to review your experience at our hotel and are thrlled to know that your encounter here was such a great one! The fact that you're telling your friends and family about us is truly appreciated and a great compliment. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legal_buzzz
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed this past weekend with some friends and family and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are VERY clean and quite spacious. Fridge and microwave in all the rooms, and even a small sink where they're located. Some rooms have a beautiful, seperate stand-up shower (would recommend asking for a room with one, it's really nice!). We were up on the 11th floor and the view of the city is amazing! The Front Desk staff is very friendly! I stopped in the Bistro for some food to bring back to my room, and their service was fast and friendly too. The pool and fitness are are really nice and up on the 15th floor so again, you have a great view of the city. Parking is free (always a bonus)! Hotel is located close to the highway which is convenient for some, and is also only a short 10-15 minute drive to downtown. After we checked-out my sister realised she'd forgot her iPod in the room. Staff found it for me and are keeping it aside so I can go pick it up. That's appreciated more than they know! Definitely recommend staying there!

Room Tip: Request a high floor. Request a room with a separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for taking time to tell the Trip Advisor audience about your experience at our hotel. It's make us very happy to know you had a great time while staying with us. You've pointed out many of things we take pride in - thank you for that!
Look forward to seeing you with us again.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Brand new beautiful hotel. Travelled with my husband and 2 month old son. Our room was great! Big bathroom with tub and separate shower. Lots of room for babie extras. Loved the sink and mini fridge for baby stuff. Bed was super comfortable. Staff was really helpful and kind.

Great restaurant downstairs with really yummy food. We had French toast and egg special. Dinner was also excellent and fresh. We had a burger and chicken ceasar wrap. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed stayed at this hotel on November 24th. Based on the reviews I had read, I knew it would be a pleasing experience. However, our stay was even better than we had anticipated. The cleanliness cannot be compared by any Marriot hotel we stayed before ... especially the washroom. It's truly beautiful! Ruth, at the reception was exceptionally helpful and you could tell that she truly enjoys her job and proud to work for the establishment. Undergrand parking is free and easy. There are elevators which will bring you to your floor. We were very sad to leave this marvellous hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1220 and there was such a beautiful view of the city ... especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. We have an exceptional housekeeping team who takes pride in ensuring the cleanliness of our hotel, so it's great that you took notice. It's equally as important to us that our associates enjoy their work place and are so glad you made that observation.
Again, many thanks for taking to time to review our hotel and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Second time staying at this hotel. First was in September dropping off at university. 5 minute drive to campus and Byward Market and the downtown. Close to shopping and the baseball park. Free wifi, free underground parking, indoor pool etc. rooms are huge with 10-11 foot ceilings.... And comfortable beds. Cant go wrong for the price. If you have a car its perfect

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our Courtyard with the Trip Advisor community. Our location certainly offers nearby conveniences and we're glad you could take advantage of them. We're delighted to know you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and complimentary amenities.
We thank you again for your review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Ottawa East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa East

Address: 200 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa East 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa East is a brand new hotel, opened in March 2012. We are conveniently located at the corner of the Vanier Parkway and Coventry Rd., just off Hwy. 417 and minutes from downtown Ottawa. We offer complimentary parking and hi-speed internet access. All 397 of our stylish and uncommonly spacious guest rooms offer a mini-fridge, microwave and wet bar. Located on the 15th floor, check out our fitness centre open 24 hours. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from here and in our pool/whirlpool area also on the 15th floor. The Bistro restaurant is open throughout the day serving Starbucks coffee and fresh, healthy options. No matter what your time allows, you’ll have options to grab and go or sit and let us serve you. Come and see us! You won’t be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Ottawa East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.