We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shawarma Palace

Shawarma Palace
464 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
(613) 789-9533
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,142 restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice sized servings, plenty of food, and all was tasty. It was a good buy for what I got and I have been back for more - always the sign of success for me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    25
    13
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food a Plenty!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Delicious!!

HUGE portions, lots of selection to choose from, well priced

Friendly staff

Eating area does not look like much (ceiling and carpet could use a good scrub) but food prep areas looked very clean!!

A definite must eat off the beaten track!

YUM

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Hard to beat if you like shawarma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Like others, I was referred to Trip Advisor to distinguish between the many shawarma places in Ottawa and was happy to learn that this one is three blocks from my home :-)
I echo the other recent comments: large portions of fresh, delicious food. I got the chicken shawarma plate, with brown rice (lovely hint of cinnamon), potatoes, LOTS of chicken, salad, pickles, hummus, and topped with garlic sauce. My wife's beef shawarma sandwich was similarly delicious. Everything else looked delicious too: falafel, grilled eggplant, tabouleh. With sandwiches at 6 bucks and plates at 12, it's not cheap. And the interior of the restaurant is basic. But the food was great and worth the extra money compared to some other places.
(Note that the main picture of this place on the Trip Advisor page must be a different restaurant - it looks nothing like the one on Rideau!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“best shawarma place in Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

When I first started going to this neighbourhood eatery, the chicken shawarma sandwich cost $3.50 and there were belly dancers lol. Now the sandwiches are $5.50 and the dancers are gone. The prices have gone up but this is still the best shawarma place in Ottawa. On Rideau Street alone, there are at least 4 shawarma places. If you count the downtown area, there must be at least 20 of them but Shawarma Place on Rideau St. serves the best tasting and the best quality, freshness and quantity of any of the other places. I know because I have tried them all. It is open till 2:00 or 3:00 am and there is always a line up. But the line up goes fast. It is now air conditioned and is always clean, The guys behind the food bar are always friendly and funny. I strongly suggest you try this Shawarma place. It is absolutely delicious.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, abundant portions. What's not to love?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I can only lend my voice to what others have already been saying. This place is awesome.

OK, admittedly most of us don't go to Ottawa looking for shawarma. Admittedly, some of us don't even know what it is. If you've had Turkish doner kebab, or Greek gyros, etc, then you've had shawarma. It's marinated meat piled on a giant skewer and roasted on a vertical spit and shaved and served with chopped or shredded vegetables, pickles and assorted condiments. The origins of the word is Turkish. It is, get over it. The dish comes from the levant, which is where the modern-day countries of Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, and parts of Iraq, Turkey, Israel etc currently are. Why is all this important? Well, if you've read my other reviews, you'll know that Vancouver has an overly generous helping of sushi restaurants ('tho not from a Japanese population neccessarily). Calgary has a large heaping of Vietnamese restaurants. Well, Ottawa has a large Lebanese population and you will find a generous number of shawarma restaurants all over. This gets tricky because there are plenty to choose from and like everything else, there is good shawarma and there is cheap shawarma. The cheap kind has dried-out potatoes, stale bread (pita or pocket), and limp, tasteless condiments or with sauces so garlicy or salty to overpower what little taste there is/was.

Truth be told, I wasn't even looking for shawarma, but Italian. But i told me Iraqi taxi driver in Ottawa that I was interested in good food, so he told me that this, the Shawarma Palace on Rideau St, was the best shawarma in Ottawa. So, to take him up on his boast, I went and tried.

It is awesome. Rideau St at 464 is not a genteel-looking place. There is an element of down-to-earth to the area. Don't be shy. The restaurant also is not very assuming until you get to the service counter. If you are by yourself, please don't be greedy and try to eat a shawarma plate by yourself unless you have paramedics waiting. Just have one rolled up in pita bread. If you do get a plate, you can share it with 2-3 people. You'll get pita bread and all the fixings are on the plate. Try everything. you can see my pics - it's huge. Get there early as the lines builds quickly at meal time. Oh yes, it's also halal, which is important to my jewish and muslim friends.

The meat is tender and hasn't been drying on the spit all day. The potatoes are done well and well, not to put too fine a point on it - all the food is, if not plated in a stylist, expensive way, is of the quality that you expect with several more dollar bills out of your pocket - is what I'm trying to say. It's good. All of it. To my lasting regret, they don't have lamb. The falaffels are truly scrumptious and you will be looking for more when you are done. This is a place that doesn't look like much, and I can't say that it's the best in Ottawa because I haven't tried all of them, but I can say that it was pretty amazing. Please don't miss it on your trip.

Tip #1: Please know what you want by the time that you get to the head of the service line.

Tip#2: Go hungry - there will be plenty of food. For exercise, walk back down Rideau St to your hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shawarma Palace also viewed

 

Been to Shawarma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shawarma Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.