We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SpicyyyyyyyLiciouss !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Smoque Shack

The Smoque Shack
129 York Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613-789-4245
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 2,223 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Barbecue, Jamaican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SpicyyyyyyyLiciouss !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you love spicy food, this is the place to be !!! I have been to Smoque Shack quite a few times and never been dissappointed! Their peri peri wings and jamacian jerk wings are ohh soo amazing!! (warning: they are really really hot ! :P) Besides the wings, the ribs, the jerk chicken, everything is so delicious! The servers are very friendly! Great place for a quick bite with friends and family. I'll definitely be back :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    76
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average food, not great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were invited to the Smoque Shack for a pre wedding dinner and we very disappointed by the lack of parking, lack of a greeter to dirrect us where to go and lack of items suitable for kids. I understand that this restraunt is not geared for kids as it looks like a full out pub downstairs but if they are going to offer the space upstairs for private parties with kids then some consideration should be in order as well as some kind of dirrection from somewhere at the door so people aren't leading their kids through a drunken crowd trying to find their party. Our food was ok. Average. Nothing exciting. My daughters salad (the only thing she would eat) was misplaced and the waiter kept trying to push the maccaroni (very garlicy) on her.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great local fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have been there 3 times, and each time the food and service was consistently very good. Love the portion sizes, not too big and perfect for sharing. Great place for a quick hearty meal with family or friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious, amazing value, local flare, great beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to this place since it opened and it has been excellent every single time. The ribs are among the best we've had, the pulled pork is sauced beautifully (you can taste a little Jamaican twist in there, it's very satisfying) and served on an ACE bakery bun if desired, topped with their home-made coleslaw. I'm drooling just writing about it.
Order a Smoque Shack Ceasar at every chance you get because there is so much going on in the glass, a few of those and who needs dinner? They add BBQ sauce to the clamato, and they garnish the drink with pickles and a little nibble of tasty meat. Love it. Another favourite is the southern style greens which are usually a hearty mix of whatever seasonal greens they have (swiss chard, kale, etc) and hunks of bacon in a savoury aux jus.
The way the menu is structured makes it easy to order several sides with your meal and not break the bank. They offer very simple main dishes which you can then add whatever sides you desire. You can order "sharing" sides which are also nice if you feel too guilty hogging your very own side of sweet potato fries, Mac and cheese, potato salad, fried pickles, poutine or creamy coleslaw.
The beers they carry are all Ontario brews, and Beaus is a staple, thank goodness, because it's some of the best beer around.
The staff who work here are casual, professional and consistent, and it's nice to see familiar faces when we come in.
We keep coming back to Smoque Shack whatever the occasion: a weeknight meal, night out with friends, watching the game.
Thank you for this Ottawa staple!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Smoque Shack Ottawa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I visited the Smoque Shack recently with my 8YO son, at his request as he wanted ribs for his birthday. The Smoque Shack is rated as the #1 BBQ restaurant in Ottawa, so we gave it a try.

Though some reviews have mentioned poor service, I found our service to be excellent. The restaurant was busy when we arrived (shortly after 6PM on a Saturday) but the greeter at the door found us a table within 5 minutes. Our server was prompt and friendly, and very helpful.

I knew that we wouldn't be eating a lot, since I was dining with an 8YO and we'd both had a late lunch, so we only ordered one main each and no sides. I didn't want any food to be wasted. He got a half-rack of ribs, and I got a half-pound of brisket, then we split both orders and shared. I thought the ribs were good, but not the best that I've had. The brisket though was very nice, with lots of flavour in the meat and the sauce, and some nice bark on the meat. I was wishing I'd been hungrier so I could have ordered some corn bread to go with it, but on this day that would have been too much for me to eat.

Overall I was pleased with my meal there, as was my son. We'd both visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smoque Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Smoque Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smoque Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.