We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of University of Ottawa Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added University of Ottawa Residences to your Saves list
University of Ottawa Residences
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   90 University Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Staffs were rude, really rude!

This is not worth a motel, this is a bunker!

Never seen any kind of check-in 4pm and check-out 10:30am!

The aftenoon reception girl when we came to check-in was rude, no smile, no help, no care.
The reception guy of the evening was worse! When I asked him something and he said "I have nothing to do with this". Ridiculous!

The room itself was bad! The walls smelt! The beds were hard, very hard! The bases of the mattresses are metals, looked like in hospitals or housing for old people!

There are NO bath, just shower!

The morning when we came down outside to walk around and came back to the room around 9:30am, 3 cleaning people were in our room ever we put "DO NOT DISTURB" on the door!
2 ladies, 1 cleaning bathroom, 1 cleanning bedroom and 1 man who was doing vacuum the room.

Terrible totally!!!

Room Tip: do not even think about this hotel, please!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
3
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just spent two nights at 90 University, the tower containing 20 floors of so-called "apartments" (a misnomer: what it really is is two rooms connected by a small common space that functions as a pseudo-kitchen (no stove, no cooking, only fridge and microwave) with two chairs and a table. The bathroom contains a shower, toilet and a small sink. No iron, hair dryer (had to leave my driver's licence to borrow one from the main office), no kettle, no mirror except in the bathroom. No couch or easy chairs to relax in. The two bedrooms are mirror images: two lamps, very dingy lighting, the bedspread looks like something from the local thrift shop, very old, pilled, and not sure if clean, mattresses are used, with a sag in the middle, so the whole night I was trying not to roll into it. Hard to do without feeling aches the next day. The towels are a combination of old and new ones. They all feel like sandpaper on the skin, obviously the housekeeping uses iron-wash to harden the towels and have never heard of fabric softener. The lino floors in the kitchen and bathrooms have not been cleaned since the last visitors; sticky, and groaty, so we all wore our shoes or slippers. Two old TVs, one in each room, and a phone in each room. Free WIFI. The staff were not too welcoming. When we left, no one asked if we had a good time. There is a taxi stand right in front of the building, so convenient to get to the airport. There were busloads of kids (about 13 to 16) when we arrived, so attendant noise levels too. We were charged for the third person, an extra $15 per night, so the price was similar to a cheaper hotel room outside the downtown core. For $235 for two nights, this was not a good experience for the money. Go elsewhere. We were there when the vacancy rate was really low, so we stayed but not ever again.

Room Tip: No pool, no fitness centre, no hot tub. In room, no iron, hair dryer. Cheap shampoo. Very basic, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Actually my small private dorm room in Marchand Residence hall was a tad less than US$200/week which includes the 13% provincial taxes. This is my second time staying here on campus and both times have been like being back in college minus the debauchery and drunken parties (lol). the room is small and is for one guest.

It's a college dorm room; there is no valet parking, room service, a great view, a fireplace or a fluffy pillow or bedspread. It is located almost in downtown Ottawa, close to transportation, with friendly staff and cheap.

Additionally they have suites that accommodate more people and of course cost more per night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Location is great, walking distance from lots of attractions. However the rooms leave a bit to be desired. Utilitarian is the best word. The most basic of needs are met but that's about it. We stayed in a room with two bedrooms, one bathroom, and a "kitchenette" (c/w fridge, microwave, and sink... nothing else! Not even a bowl and a spoon). Beds are queen and very hammock-like without a box spring. A/C worked just fine. House keeping is minimal, stayed 5 nights and only one bed was made even though two were used every day! Internet was EXCELLENT (wifi), and common-rooms on each floor are great if you're staying with a group. Parking was $16/night in a parkade 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I've been staying at 90 University with a "family" of 50 elementary school students for quite a few years now and we wouldn't stay anywhere else! This accommodation is very comfortable (two rooms sharing a kitchenette with fridge and microwave, plus washroom), clean, and within the walking distance to the heart of Ottawa. Perfect for a school trip! The reason I would NOT stay there on my own is that large groups make a lot of noise and I sure would not want to be on the floor with a bunch of students running around. It appears that "regular people" are interspersed among group rooms and I can't see how that can be a peaceful stay. In spite of the curfew and a guard, there are always rooms that continue making noise and I would not want to take that chance. The last two weeks of May and June are particularly full but I don't know what happens during the summer months. If you don't care about the noise and possible commotion, then by all means, enjoy the deal! Otherwise, inquire whether there is a large group on your floor and bring earplugs! Note: Suites for people with disabilities have larger rooms and an appropriate bathroom (I think there is one per floor).

Room Tip: Ask if there is a large group on your floor if you don't like noise. Bring earplugs just in cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at the University of Ottawa residence located at 90 University for a conference taking place at the university. There are different accommodations. I stayed in a room with two bedrooms, a kitchenette, and bathroom. It had AC. Some other rooms are tiny, have no bathroom, no kitchenette, and no private bathroom.

My room was $100 plus tax (a special price for the conference). Parking is underground in the Perez building, one block away, and costs $16 per day.

The bed linens were clean. The pillows are tiny plastic institutional pillows. Shampoo and towels are provided in the bathroom.

The kitchenette has a refrigerator with freezer and microwave but no oven. There are no dishes, no glasses, no kitchen towels, and no cutlery.

While I was there, there were hundreds of high school students on a school trip. They ran yelling through the halls at night and one pulled the fire alarm at 1:37 a.m.

It was obvious that my room had been cleaned before I arrived but no one had emptied two garbage cans full of old food, beer bottles, and feminine hygiene products.

The room had not been completely cleaned after the university students had left (sticky chairs, Scotch tape on the walls and ceiling) and the TV remote batteries were dead.

If you plan to ask for a wake-up call, make sure you have a back-up because at least two of us never got our calls.

The front desk staff was excellent when I checked in but when I complained about not getting a wake-up call, the young woman simply said that it wasn’t the job of her shift (instead of reporting it to the manager or inquiring about the reason).

I would stay there again for a conference, but not on vacation.

Room Tip: Do not stay in one of the tiny no-frills rooms in summer. They are stifling hot.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in a double dorm room in the Stanton building in May 2012. The room was $65 for 2 single beds. There is a $16 charge for overnight parking in the Perez underground lot which is 1 block away. You can make reservations by internet or 1-800 phone line. Reservations cancelled within 48 hours require 1 night’s payment. The desk is very busy but the staff is genuinely interested and helpful.


The Stanton (double) dorm room has: 2 single beds, with sheets, and a thermal blanket, pillow, large towel, face cloth, soap and shampoo sample, plastic cup, 2 bureaus/dressers, 2 desks, 2 chairs, 2 garbage cans. That is it. There is a telephone but it has no cord to it. There is no television. There is internet access but you have to bring an Ethernet cord. Each floor has a male and female washroom. The woman’s washroom has 3 steel sinks, one toilet, and 2 showers. Bring your flip flops as the floors were dirty (this was very disappointing) and for the communal showers. Bring your housecoat for wearing to the washroom in the night. Ask for a room close to the bathrooms if you have a child with you. There was a kitchenette on our floor. It had a full size fridge and a microwave, sink and table/chairs.

Driving in was an issue due to construction on campus within the GPS’s recommended route. Drive in Laurier East Av, and then turn on Cumberland St and turn right to get to the 15 min parking while you check in, then go back and move your car to underground parking.. Easy walk to the canal which takes you straight to the Chateau Laurier Hotel and Parliament Hill (about 1.5 km). Location is amazing.

Next time, I want to check out the 2 bedroom suites as I think the bathroom access might be easier when travelling with children. Check in is 4 pm and check out is 10h30 am, which makes having to pay the $16 parking fee a bit pricey.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to University of Ottawa Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Ottawa Residences

Address: 90 University Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University of Ottawa Residences 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your University of Ottawa Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Ottawa Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.