We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Luna

Stella Luna
1103 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613-523-1116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,224 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Dessert
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice ice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We are neighbours, so we walked there through the cold and snow. Like this place, lots of floor space and nice seating arrangements so it is a great place to just go spur of the moment for a relaxed evening outing. The texture and consistency of the gelato makes it rank high here in Ottawa and does remind me of gelato in Italy. I've had some really good flavours there and some that are more average but still quite nice. They change the flavours often and often have some seasonal gelato offerings which is fun. I once tried the hot chocolate and yes it is good, follows the melt-a-slab-of-chocolate and pour the resulting thick liquid in a cup idea, but at over $5 with tax, this isn't just a quick treat you want to hand to a kid. I find it a bit rich (and I say this rarely about desserts) and would have been happier with half the serving (if the price was halved too of course!). I also made the mistake of getting it to walk back home with. It's more of the make an occasion of it (sit-and-sip-and-savor-it) type of drink. The business appears to be doing well, often line-ups but unless it's summer, not too bad. Seems that family and friend groups arrive in bulk. A few things they may want to watch, the light patterned arm chairs are a bit grotty in place due to the sticky fingered clientele and though they are open into the evening, I have found that their baked offerings and desserts look too much of a side bar as they appear pretty picked over by late afternoon/evening, not so enticing. This is a shame because I recently tried a cookie (fought a sample away from a 3 1/2 year old) and it was very tasty. Hadn't been since what must have been a few months until a week ago. Came with a friend and her near melting down post canal toddler. The cookie and ambience revived us all and waitress who came to clear our table very kind and tolerant about the toddlers table habits. Table far enough that the older gentleman opposite seemed to enjoy the youthful antics too. So yes, came again last night, not sure I'd go through the snow for gelato normally but remembered certificate for small gelato received from hot chocolate order (broken machine resulted in long wait) but unfortunately it had expired, not quite so fun. I think they kind of missed the point of giving out the certificate in the first place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Step in to this lovely space and enjoy the spectacle of the gelato bar with mounds of delectable gelato! It tastes as good as it looks!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Go for the waffles, stay for the gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Heard a lot of really great things about Stella Luna's waffles so finally went to check it out for ourselves and were not disappointed. The waffles are delicious but what really struck us was that when they came out, they were hot. This might sound weird but we couldn't remember the last time we ordered waffles/pancakes/french toast and they were hot (not warm, hot). Waffles were delicious, coffee was excellent, staff was very friendly and the atmosphere is great. We'll be back.

Oh, and the gelato is amazing (separate trip).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Gelato and Lattes in Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bank Street location with parking on street, unique gelato flavours available in a variety sizes, good atmosphere and customer service, relaxed setting where you are not pressed to leave, can get quite busy on the weekends and at lunch hour.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So happy to have Stella Luna in my neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is gelato so good you want it at -20C below! Excellent variety of flavours, nice atmosphere, occasional informal jazz, and former church pews put to good use as bench seats! Why go for ice cream anywhere else?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Luna also viewed

 

Been to Stella Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.