We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canada Science and Technology Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canada Science and Technology Museum

Canada Science and Technology Museum
1867 St. Laurent Blvd., Ottawa, Ontario K1G 5A3, Canada
613-991-3044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 102 Attractions in Ottawa
Type: Science Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada’s largest science and technology museum is a great hands-on experience for visitors of all ages. Discover some of the most important scientific and technological objects in Canada.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Canada Science and Technology Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My 8YO son and I visited the museum on the afternoon of February 8. It was snowing fairly heavily, and still during school hours, which contributed to the museum being practically empty. We almost had the place to ourselves. Having been here when it was very busy, and having experienced the frustration of watching my (then) small kids being shoved away by larger children from hands-on exhibits, it was nice to be there with so few people. My son had the time to explore the whole place at his own pace, and see what he wanted when he wanted. I just tagged along behind him and let him take the lead and have fun.

We've been to this museum before and always enjoy it, but when it's busy it can be noisy and a bit stressful. Finding a quieter time to visit really makes it a more enjoyable experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    65
    38
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful! But beware...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This has gotta be my favourite museum in Ottawa, and we have a handful of amazing museums. It's fun for all ages, so many things to do and learn, hands on and very informative. One thing that dissapointed and shocked me was the controversial "Sexibit". An exhibit exclusively for those 16 and older. It was very explicit and extremely uncomfortable. Be aware, if you are with your kids, or parents, to not enter this part of the museum! Other than that, so fun, enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Super fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to the museum quite a bit and plan to go back. We were pleasantly surprised at the detailed and hands-on exhibits. Staff were helpful and nice. The train exhibit was particularly impressive and the information on stuff invented by Canadians left a nice patriotic glow in our hearts! Highly recommended for both adults and children.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We invented that?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

the telephone to the Robertson screwdriver to the Blackberry smart phone, you will besurprised what great inventions have come out of this country. Hands on displays make this a an exciting and fun place for the whole family. Outside a train a rocket and yes even a lighthouse in the centre of the east end of Ottawa are there to enjoy

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lots to see, variety of things for the kids and adults, lots of interaction and knowledge. Informative staff always will to help.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada Science and Technology Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canada Science and Technology Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canada Science and Technology Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.