We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy atmosphere & good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Cellar

Main Street Cellar
5561 Manotick Main St | Manotick, Ottawa, Ontario K4M 1A2, Canada
+1 613-692-2675
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere & good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I am not a wine expert and don't pretend to know about wine. But I do know good food and friendly service. That's what you can expect here. It's a combination of choices, reasonable pricing and good service that made our evening here a success. With another couple we enjoyed various items on the menu and all were good - especially the trout! Conscientious service that wasn't interfering with our conversation, knowledgeable of menu items and a thorough understanding of wine pairing to help a novice like me choose!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetOttawa, Owner at Main Street Cellar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear ottrav5,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us. We strive for quality food and service and are so pleased we met the mark on your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    23
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a pleasant evening at the Main Street Wine Cellar. The service was friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. The duck tacos and bacon-wrapped dates were creative and delicious. The ambiance was inviting. The only negative was the noise level. Not sure how it could be mitigated but it was too noisy to enjoy a private conversation.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetOttawa, Owner at Main Street Cellar, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Christine P

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We strive for good quality and service and I am so glad we hit the target on your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the duck taco and dates. Noise levels are difficult, with old wood floors and tall ceilings for sure. Next time you come we will try and put you in our room that might be slightly quieter (upstairs) with carpet, just mention it to us.

Thank you so much for your review!
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Dinning experience, hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went here after the holidays, found through word of mouth. It was a great experience. The place is small, cozy, great food, excellent service, large wine selection, really well done. Little bit of local flavour. Will be going back to sample more of the menu. This is a must try for the foodies in Ottawa, short drive away. Enjoy

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetOttawa, Owner at Main Street Cellar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Barry H

Thank you for you review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you soon. Please check out our website for some weekly specials we have...

Regards
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manotick's Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Have been here several times and it is always delicious. Food is fresh and tasty. Staff is friendly and inviting. The atmosphere is cozy. We will definitely be back again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetOttawa, Owner at Main Street Cellar, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear LoriS
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It of course makes us happy when people take the time to write about their experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gluten and Lactose Free dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I always enjoy having dinner here. Intimate, cozy setting. I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered their gluten free and lactose free chocolate cupcake. I stole a bit of my friend's raspberry topping and the combination was awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetOttawa, Owner at Main Street Cellar, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear theJamacianLawyer
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to offer our guests options for their dining enjoyment, this includes some dietary options such as gluten free. We are glad to hear that you enjoy this option and you were able to savour the sweets with your companion. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cellar also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Cellar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.