We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casey's Bar & Grill

Casey's Bar & Grill
1880 Ogilvie Road, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
(613) 742-1818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,026 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Gatineau
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went before a movie and the food was great. We had the Wednesday night couple special - appetizer, two mains and two desserts for $40. We started with the spinach and artichoke dip, our favourite appetizer from the place. One of us had the streak with fries - great taste. The other had the half rack of ribs with apple beer BBQ sauce, another great choice!
For dessert we had the dessert nachos sundae and the peanut butter brownie sundae - a great way to end a great meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good place to go but !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We like this restaurant, simple but with a well built menu to satisfy wide range of taste. Steak has been so far one of the flagship of this place. Well attended, customers are not pressed to the bar if table not available yet. Our last visit revealed a little disapointment for the steaks overcooked and the service for our table of four quite disfunctionning. When we go as a group of four it is difficult to leave a fourth person to get his food 20 minutes after the others. We recommand the house to be serious about such things, We will return to check as this place has been very good so far. A little friendly warning !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

As a family dining out, we enjoy going somewhere with an adult vibe yet that welcomes families. We try to avoid the family chain of restaurants if we can. Caseys offers a laid-back atmosphere with pretty decent food without the sky high prices. I am thrilled to see they have a gluten free menu because my daughter is Celiac. The manager on duty about a year ago when we first tried Caseys was really on the ball about the gluten free choices & how they prepped the food which was very appreciated. On March break they offered one free kid's meal per every adult meal purchased which is another incentive to drop in. My rotisseries chicken breast was better than I expected; juicy inside but with that nice crisp outside, gravy on the side was nice & hot, and the coleslaw had a nice zingy fresh flavour to it. (Small gripe but frozen butter in packages for a baked potato is not welcomed). As margaritas go (by Mexico standards) it wasn't half bad & actually had a fresh light lime taste without all that fake syrup most restaurants use. Service was friendly & efficient by Sara. Overall Casey's offers good value & actually pretty tasty food for both adults & kids with daily specials to draw in customers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place it was delicious! Only complaint is price of drinks. They are fairly high. I had a pasta and my friend had the burger. Both were great! The fajitas also smelled delicious :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I love Casey's. The food looks and tastes good and is good quality. I really enjoy the atmosphere. The staff is very nice, they give good service, I usually get my food after a reasonable wait (sometimes it takes longer if the restaurant is busy, but it's okay because it's worth the wait).

I strongly recommend that restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casey's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Casey's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casey's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.