We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1376 Carling Avenue | Carling and Kirkwood, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7L5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday May 28th, 2011. My husband had booked the room months in advance and paid for an upgrade. The room we booked was described as “a spacious King Bed/NS/Fridge/Free High Speed Wireless/Sofa/Sitting Area/Working Desk with a Maximum Occupancy of 4 people”. What we got instead was a tiny dank and dark room with neither a sofa nor any type of seating area. (Room #134) In fact the room was so small that if one person was standing up the other person would physically have to either walk or crawl over the bed to get to the other side of the room. We attended the front counter twice in an effort to have our room switch to the appropriate category that we had paid for but we were met with extremely unhelpful, uncaring and rude staff. Normally I would have just pack up and found another hotel but it was the “Ottawa Race Weekend” and all the other hotels were fully booked. The staff was clearly aware of this and knew that we would have to put up with anything they gave us.
The only window in the room was a set of French Doors were dead bolted shut and would not open. Our view was of a pile of garbage bags and broken computers pieces that had been piled up on the ground outside our French door. There was an overwhelming stench of chlorine in the room and I woke up with a spitting headache the next morning. Finally the mattress was terrible. It was incredibly soft and you could actually see the sagging in the middle. Although I can see that the water park would be good for children all other aspects of this hotel are so far below standard I would not recommend it to anyone. Further this hotel blatantly lies in their room descriptors.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM-Travelodge, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback that we can work on improving our service and operations. I am sorry that your experience at the Travelodge was not as positive as it could have been due to various concerns. I apologize for the concerns with the room you reserved. I am looking into the method your reservation was made and where the room information came from as it seems the description you received was incorrect. I have gone over the concerns with our staff to ensure that when concerns are brought to their attention, they are addressed properly. Again, I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay. Please contact me toll-free at 1-800-267-4166 if you would like to discuss the matter further. I hope to speak with you soon and also hope that you will give the Travelodge Ottawa Hotel & Conference Centre a chance to prove the level of service we pride ourselves on.

Sincerely,

Daniel Greer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    282
    338
    193
    136
See reviews for
591
89
38
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of the great reviews for the pool. We had life guards yelling at all the kids. The hotel room a/c did not work room was at 30 degrees.
Had to fight to get a new room. We prepaid our rooms and got billed for our rooms
even after we came home. still fighting to get reinbursement from this hotel.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM-Travelodge, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Andre1975,

Thank-you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback that we can work on improving our service and operations. I am sorry that your experience at the Travelodge was not as positive as it could have been due to various concerns. I apologize for the concerns with the water park staff and air conditioning. I have gone over the concerns with our staff and to ensure everything is properly addressed and examined. I would like to discuss the concerns of your being overcharged for your stay. Please contact me toll-free at 1-800-267-4166 and I will personally look after your concerns. Again, I do apologize for the difficulties you encountered during your recent stay. I hope to speak with you soon and also hope that you will give the Travelodge Ottawa Hotel & Conference Centre a chance to prove the level of service we pride ourselves on.

Sincerely,

Daniel Greer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a Saturday night. We found the room (including the bathroom) clean and comfortable. The kitchenette area even included plates and cutlery, which most hotels don't offer, and we appreciated that. Taking a nap during the day was a bit difficult because of the excited children

The wavepool and water-slide were fun, but the hot tub had so much chlorine that breathing near the water caused my eyes to burn. Personally, knowing how much bacteria can fester in hot water, I'd prefer too much chlorine than not enough.

We didn't eat at the restaurant so we can't comment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM-Travelodge, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us at the Travelodge Ottawa Hotel and Conference Centre. I appreciate your positive feedback and kind words on our hotel. I have shared your comments with our associates and management team. All of us at the Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. If there is anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me toll free at 1-800-267-4166.

Sincerely,

Daniel Greer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

The music in the pool area was very loud and made it difficult to hear the lifegaurds directions.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We had a wonderful time while staying at the hotel. My sons loved the wave pool and spent quite a bit of time in it. The restaurant was a great value for the money and the restaurant staff was wonderful- very friendly! We had 2 different rooms while there (due to me only booking one night online). Both rooms were great but we especially liked the room with the kingsize bed and pull out couch as it was particularly roomy. the housekeeping staff was also very friendly. The location was perfect- equally close to shopping centres. We didn't take our pets with us but I do know that this hotel allows pets. Thank you for the wonderful time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM-Travelodge, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you and your family so enjoyed your stay with us at the Travelodge Ottawa Hotel and Conference Centre. I appreciate your positive feedback and kind words on our staff. I will ensure they are shared with our associates and management team. All of us at the Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. If there is anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me toll free at 1-800-267-4166.

Sincerely,

Daniel Greer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Region, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed here for one night, as we had a quick trip into Ottawa. The hotel was very busy as it was the first weekend of March Break. My expectations were low based on the reviews I had read, but really it wasn't too bad. We got checked in early, the room was clean, and for a hotel full of Kids for March break, it was pretty quiet and I had a good nights sleep. We were away from the pool area and I'm sure that helped with the noise factor. I did find that parking was a bit far from the door, and half the lot was underwater due to the spring thaw, but not a huge factor. The hotel does exit onto a one way street, so if you want to go the other way you have to make a u-turn in the mall down the street. This isn't the fanciest hotel, but it will do for a night or two. Oh yeah, they also let me bring my dog in, which was why we stayed there in the first place. My dog is pretty awesome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM-Travelodge, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you decided to visit us and pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Travelodge Ottawa Hotel and Conference Centre. I appreciate your positive feedback and I always make it a practice to share all our guest's comments with our associates and management team so that our entire team may continue to improve our guests' experiences. All of us at the Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. If there is anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me toll free at 1-800-267-4166.

Sincerely,

Daniel Greer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Booked this hotel for a 'staycation' for March Break. Stayed two nights and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Arrived on Sunday March 13th for a two night stay, to find the wireless in my room was not working. Informed the front desk and after a bit of discussion, and having to ask to speak to someone 'higher up' was moved to another room. Our new room was filthy. Urine on the bottom of the toilet, walls in room and bathroom were dirty, carpet unclean, and were only provided towels for one person. Had booked this spot specifically for the 'water park'. The pictures are very deceiving. Made a trip to the pool on the night of our arrival and had hoped that given all the reviews I'd read over pool temperature, it would have been rectified and warmer. Not the case. Pool was cold and children are not allowed in the hot tub (not even their feet). Spoke to the lifeguard about the pool temperature and was told the temp was 80 degrees and the air temp in the room is 83. He went on to say something about the balance between the pool and air temp, the hotel could not adjust the pool heat. At one point, there was only ONE lifeguard in the pool area while the others were in the lifeguard room. One of the 'lifeguards' was wearing a COAT, sweatpants and running shoes. I wondered how exactly he would handle an emergency in the wave pool he was supervising with so much heavy clothing on. Furthermore, if the lifeguard could work comfortably in a coat and long pants, this should tell you something about the temperature of the pool area. Most of the children around my son and I had blue lips and were shivering. Unfortunate because I am nearly certain the pool would be the big draw there for March Break.
The walls are paper thin. Doors are constantly slamming shut...maybe the hotel could put something between the door and frame so it doesn't sound like a car crash everytime someone enters or exits a room? Had a hard time getting to sleep with people running up and down the hallways half the night.
There is no room service which I half expected given the hotel has a restaurant. The only friendly staff person I encountered during my stay was the woman who switched our room at the front desk.
We will definitely not be recommending this hotel to out of town guests, nor would we return. Better off going to a higher end hotel that has a pool. Not worth it to use this location for basically, a waterslide/wave pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM-Travelodge, Manager at Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback that we can work on improving our service and operations. I am sorry that your experience at the Travelodge was not as positive as it could have been due to various concerns. I apologize for the condition of your room and the concerns with the water park. I have gone over the concerns with our staff and to ensure everything is properly addressed and examined.
Again, I do apologize for the difficulties you encountered during your recent stay and I would like to discuss the matter further with you. Please contact me at 613-722-7601, extension 4216 at your earliest convenience. I hope to speak with you soon and also hope that you will give the Travelodge Ottawa Hotel & Conference Centre a chance to prove the level of service we pride ourselves on.

Sincerely,

Daniel Greer
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West

Address: 1376 Carling Avenue | Carling and Kirkwood, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7L5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Ottawa Hotel and Conference Centre is a CAA/AAA 3-Diamond Full Service Property. Boasting Over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, a full convention services department and exceptional customer service. We offer an Executive Club Floor with a private Executive lounge for our business travelers enjoyment. Enjoy Ottawa's largest hotel Water Park, the Wet and Wild water Park. It features a wave pool, kid s pool, slide, hot tub and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel And Convention Centre
Travelodge Ottawa
Travel Lodge Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.