We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P2E3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Clean rooms! The Suites were very spacious, staff couldn't be more helpful and the area is perfect to explore Ottawa!

The only negative was something that couldn't be helped. Construction in the underground parking and maintenance on the elevator was a little annoying.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    105
    46
    13
    10
See reviews for
71
57
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at this hotel. We had no problem whatsoever, our 16th-floor room was clean and quiet. The three elevators were quick and efficient, resulting in minimal waits despite a full hotel. Service was excellent, every minor request was promptly followed-up on. The location is great, tons of restaurants nearby, but one block away from the main road (Elgin), and a stone-throw to the canal. Highly recommended overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean, spacious rooms,friendly staff, parking for big & small vehicles, close to downtown amenities.

This is a reasonably priced hidden gem in Ottawa !

I have stayed in various Ottawa Hotels and this is by far my favorite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I really like this hotel. It is less than 5 minutes walk from the Rideau Canal, 10 minutes from the Rideau Centre and the University of Ottawa, and 20 minutes walk to anywhere in downtown. It is also reasonably priced.
The room I had was a queen bed suite with a kitchenette. The kitchen was reasonably equipped, although not exactly generously equipped. The nearest grocery store is about 10 minutes walk away. The room is not huge, but it is reasonably comfortable. A little table with 2 chairs, a comfortable chair and ottoman and a smallish TV.
The only real complaints were that the refrigerator was noisy, and since the room was a studio style the bed is only 10 feet away, so as a light sleeper it was somewhat difficult to sleep. The other minor complaint is that all of the taps are backwards. They are all single handle taps with hot to the right instead of the traditional to the left. Confused me for the first couple of days.
There was no shortage of hot water, no noise from the hotel. Breakfast was good. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Both the front and the back are quiet, but if you are a late sleeper and you are there during the sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our room was upgraded, as I am a IHG member, and it was a lovely room, very large with a jacuzzi bath, which was perfect after a long day of sightseeing. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was really good, and included in the rate. We were only a short walk from the river and many of the attractions.
My only gripe was the cost of the parking, which I thought was high at $17 per night. We loved the hotel and loved Ottawa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Weekend of Aug. 23rd to 26th, we stayed at this hotel. We found it to be very comfortable and close to the downtown stores and restaurants, walking distance to everything. We went to the
farmers' market near the Rideau Center, and the Parliament building. Everythng is nearby.
The staff there is very friendly, at reception and the restaurant. Very good food also.

Room Tip: Highest floor is 16th floor, view of the Ottawa city hall. Really nice view over all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax,Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose this hotel based on Price and Location. And as the saying goes you get what you paid for. The room is Dated and the room Decor was vintage. That being said you are two minute walk the Rideau Canal another 15 minutes and you are at the Rideau Centre and Byyard Market. The staff are friendly and our room was clean. The WIFI worked very well. Underground Parking is avaiable but has very limited height restriction. Was able to use the well equiped Business Centre to print off boarding Passes with ease. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get an east facing room you can view the Parliament Buildings from ninth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Rob.canada,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#29 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.