We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Ottawa West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Ottawa West to your Saves list
Days Inn Ottawa West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Moodie Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2H 8G3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Cambridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We found this hotel ok for one night. The price was decent but I don't think that I would stay there again. The area was fine and the it was comfortable but quite dated. The continental breakfast was very basic, with cereal, toast, english muffins etc, this could certainly be improved on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    107
    86
    30
    17
See reviews for
113
47
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

While this hotel provided a clean and reasonably comfortable place to sleep it was little annoying things that didn't wow me. Breakfast was not all that special (though the staff were nice) so it's a good thing McDonald's was close by for morning coffee. We had four people booked in our room but every day received only 3 sets of towels......had to sign a set out four times.....As well they required a MASSIVE credit card pre-auth ($1400 for the two rooms) and thankfully I had enough room on my credit card.....I've stayed at nicer hotels with no pre-auth required - while understandable it was still annoying. Overall, it was okay - served its purpose - but that's it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights, for a family vacation. We had our two sons, aged 6 and 9, and did the museum tour in our nation's capital. Booked through Expedia and got a decent rate.

The hotel itself was OK. It could have used a good spring cleaning, inside and out, but wasn't really dirty. The front desk staff, the cleaning staff and the people in the breakfast room were all very pleasant and friendly. The room was adequate for the four of us, and was comfortable, if a little dated. It could have used a refresh, but nothing that impacted our stay. The beds were OK, the pillows were terrible. Fortunately we had brought some of own for the kids in the car. The room could have used an extra chair or two, as there was only one, at the desk. The elevators were extremely slow, and stopped on every floor, until my 6-year-old figured out if he just held the button for our floor, we zipped right to it.

The parking was free, as was the internet, and it was pretty fast, better than most. There was a free breakfast, coffee/tea, three kinds of cereal, toast, and mini muffins. Adequate, but nothing to write home about.

My only real sticking point was that we were charged $10 per night, per child, for a total of $80 (+ tax) for our stay. I'm not really sure what we got for that extra money. We received no extra towels, there were only two plastic cups in the bathroom (we went to Walmart and bought our own). The only thing I could see we got, was for the "free" breakfast, and my kids didn't eat anywhere near $10 worth for the whole stay. I thought this surcharge was a rip-off, and for this reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel to people travelling with kids, and I think if I was travelling with just my wife, I might try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here on many occasions when visiting Ottawa.
The hotel is not central but has excellent access to the 416 and hwy 417 . Access to downtown is best by using the Ottawa River Parkwsay which brings you to parliament hill.

I found it to be better than most Days inns possible because it was originally a Luxor Inn.

There is a pleasant Irish type restaurant attached , not managed by the hotel , a cosy and comfy place to meet friends for a drink or meals.

I usually ask for the north view end units as there are no neighbours attached.

One negative is one of the elevators has been out of service for my past few visits ..Hoever does not affect guests much

Room Tip: North view end units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

clean nice room.
free parking.
close to town.
we had a good experience, and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I've stayed in a few hotels in my time... some for business, some for pleasure. This was a business trip, and this hotel did not live up to expectations. Overall, it's average, with nothing really special about it.

There is a Loblaws across the street, and some smaller restaurants in the area, but nothing really close by that is sit-down. The restaurant connected to the hotel is an Irish pub style chain restaurant, and the food is quite good. However, they don't take debit, and I could not charge my meal to my room. I had corporate approval to do so, but judging by the wait staff's response, it's not something they do. Who advertises their hotel as being attached to a restaurant if you can't charge the meal to your room? Also, in this day and age, not taking debit so you force your customers to pay a fee at the ATM terminal in the lobby is bad business... but that is what this establishment expects.

The rooms were average, but very clean. TV was an old style CRT, needs updating. The bathrooms weren't bad, again very clean, but very cramped as another reviewer said. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. The heater/air conditioner in the room is old style controlled at the source, and the fan is quite loud - which is fine with me becuase I enjoy white noise when sleeping. This may bother some, though. There's an in-room bar refridgerator, the tall type, which was actually set to cold when I entered the room. There's no closet in the room but for an open area with hangers - not really good for hanging up clothes as it's very "out in the open".

The internet in this facility is awful. I connected to the wireless the first three nights, but switched over to the ethernet connection on my final night - which was a marginal improvement. If you prefer wireless, though, prepare for dropouts and slow speeds the majority of the time.

I didn't partake in the continental breakfast or use the weight room, so I cannot comment on those.

Overall, it's an average hotel (other than above average cleanliness). Given how average it is, the cost for a room (king size) is somewhat over priced. There's a Holiday Inn Express and Suites just across the street that is about $30 - $40 more per night, but if you're a business traveler it might be worth your while to have the company shell out some extra bucks for a better room... especially if the internet is improved!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

The hotel is a little dated but seems to be very popular with people like me, who were there on business and needed a hotel in the west end. Hotel is clean and my room was well maintained. Had an excellent pillow top mattress with good quality pillows, good sized bar fridge for personal use in room and Nabob coffee with the supplied coffee maker. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash come out a dispenser in bathtub/shower. Drinking containers made of glass, not sealed plastic cups. Very small gym, mostly for aerobic exercises on main floor, but you have to walk past the lobby to get to it. Very basic continental breakfast supplied free in main floor room. Very popular pub, D'Arcy Magees is attached to hotel. I think this place is too far from downtown for tourists, but good for workers. Wireless internet is terrible, however, my room had a LAN cable, which provided okay service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Ottawa West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ottawa West

Address: 350 Moodie Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2H 8G3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Ottawa West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the pet friendly rooms are strictly on the Ground Floor and a fee per night does apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Days Inn Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Ottawa West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Ottawa West Hotel Ottawa
Days Inn Nepean
Nepean Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Ottawa West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.