We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ottawa Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ottawa Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Kent Street | Hotel Entrance Is on Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5R7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We only stayed at the hotel one night. It was a good night.
The reception staff were very friendly, even the trainee. He was very fast, helpful and gave us a city view room as i asked for.
The hotel room was of a good size with two double beds as requested. Good sheets and comfortable pillows.
I was put off by the long leg spiders in the washroom and the fact that they were too old. I think the rooms could use a bit of a renovation.
The valet service was good, at some point they gave us the wrong car so they waived the charges which was nice of them.
We only saw the pool from the elevator,but it wasn't attractive or anything.
Location is perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the Parliament.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    119
    52
    9
    5
See reviews for
71
72
14
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We decided to go here for our anniversary. Started off well - the valet told us about the parking downstairs if we didn't want to use his services, and everyone was polite and friendly all the way from him, to check-in, to the people we encountered. I had let the hotel know ahead of time via their virtual concierge that we would like extra pillows. These were not in the room. We called multiple times, just wanting to go to sleep, and were finally delivered when my wife was sleeping, and I was trying to stay awake. That didn't make me happy.

We ordered room service twice - for supper and for breakfast. The creme brulee that my wife wanted wasn't available anymore, which surprised us since it was on the menu. We wanted drinks, but had to go down to the bar to order them, we couldn't get them delivered. Great service from the bartender though. Food was fine for supper, but we were really happy with the breakfast. I had the fresh fruit and granola, and the granola was wonderful. My wife had the crispy French toast and she really enjoyed that as well.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a balcony, and a view of the Ottawa River and Supreme Court
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Staying at this hotel on a weekly basis and very appreciate the quality of the service provided by this dedicated team; especially in the Concierge lounge wiht Lisa. Always appreciate the speed they process at reception and willingness to find a different room as required.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Parliament
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer to be carfuk about using unecessary linens
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I LOVE the Marriott for their comfy beds! This location was clean, and the staff were attentive, always ready to help recommend a restaurant or tell you which way to find the attractions. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to park our car and walk almost everywhere. Close to the Byward Market, Spark Street, the Rideau Canal, one night we even walked to the trendy area of Hintonburg for dinner. The parking lot was a bit tricky ~ you enter right beside the hotel and exit, not only down the street ~ but across the street! The spots are small so if you drive an extra large vehicle, you might need to make other arrangements.... we have a full size 7 passenger SUV and we were fine, but I noticed a few people with large pick-up trucks parked in the valet alley. BUT BUYER BEWARE We got a "great deal" on hotwire.com for this hotel, a non-refundable "great deal"~ just to find it could have been cheaper using the Marriott website and using our CAA (that's triple A card for our American friends). I did find the hotel was a bit pricey and the parking wasn't included ~ but that's standard for a downtown hotel ~ the good definitely outweighed the bad.

Room Tip: There is free WIFI but if you require a lot of data, they will charge you to upgrade to a better pla...
See more room tips
Green Features: They take 'the save the planet by re-using your towels' program most hotels have and they take it to the next level.... give up fresh towels and new linens for a day and they will provide you with a $5 coupon to be used at the starbucks or hotel restaurant!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I often stay at Marriott Hotels and get outstanding service. However, the staff at the Ottawa Marriott went Beyond the pale. They were extremely friendly and helpful. The front desk personnel, concierge lounge attendants and lobby personnel were always smiling, making me feel welcome and asking me what they could do to help me. A special shout out goes to Benjamin Brucket, the catering manager who helped me get set up for a meeting I was having and offered up a small meeting room for us to use. In addition to an incredible staff, the hotel is conveniently located downtown a very short distance from the river, Parliament, great restaurants and shopping. Also, the views were great.

Room Tip: Room location with a view of Parliament and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night celebrating our five year anniversary. We requested a high floor and we were staying in a corner executive room with a king bed. We only got on the 11th floor.

The staff was friendly and the hotel was very clean and nice! The elevators during the day seemed to take forever to come and they were always cram packed. But at night and early morning it was much better. The hotel is located right beside Sparks street so it was very convenient to just walk out of the hotel and be right there.

The bar located in the hotel has a good selection of drinks and the bartender was very friendly and recommended different events that were going on around downtown Ottawa. We mentioned to him that it was our five year anniversary and when we got back to our hotel room there was a bottle of sparkling wine in ice with two champagne glasses with a card that said Happy Anniversary! It was so thoughtful and I was so happy - it truly made my night.

We had to go with the Valet parking because our truck didn't fit in the underground parking so the truck was parked right outside the hotel with other trucks. We went out for dinner at night and watched the Mosaika Light Parliament show (must see!) we walked back and just for the thought of it, decided to check the truck door to see if it was locked - and it was not. There were valuables kept in the truck and although the hotel is not responsible for lost or stolen items, you would definitely expect for your vehicle to be locked, especially when its sitting downtown ottawa right outside.

That was really the only downfall of the stay - everything else was great! We would definitely go back again - but we would make sure again that the truck doors were locked.

Room Tip: Corner executive room is large and nice - floor to ceiling windows makes for a beautiful room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

we have stayed here several times now and this hotel had become our first choice when in the downtown area. this is my second review of this hotel. I would first like to say that the customer service here is fantastic,,i would like to give a shout out to carson and hiram,,super service. we stayed during the very busy civic weekend(comedy and busker festival) and this hotel was grand central for all of it. everyone we came across was super,,from the parking guys to the lobby hostess,,great job. we upgraded to a king corner balcony room(very nice)....but..smallest bathroom ever,,almost comical. you can tell Marriott has spent lots of money on the rooms and lobby areas,,its just the building is getting old. I would guess this hotel would be 40 years old and its starting to feel that way..i could here every elevator chime from the shower and we were way down the hall from it..also the outside construction can be heard from everywhere. it is still our first choice downtown hotel, but the building is showing some age.

Room Tip: the king corner room was really nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ottawa Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottawa Marriott Hotel

Address: 100 Kent Street | Hotel Entrance Is on Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5R7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#11 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottawa Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury in the heart of Canada's capital city. The Ottawa Marriott Hotel will exceed your expectations with impeccable service and beautifully designed rooms and suites. Both business and leisure travelers will appreciate our hotel amenities, including free in-room Internet access and luxury pillowtop mattresses. Flat-screen TVs and Marriott's exclusive Plug-In technology help keep you connected and productive. Additional hotel perks, like a heated indoor pool and our popular Kids' Zone, ensure an enjoyable stay for guests of all ages. Enjoy comfort food with a modern twist at "spin" Kitchen & Bar, or sip fresh-brewed coffee at our onsite Starbucks(R). Meetings at the hotel are memorable, thanks to our 35,000 square feet of meeting space and expert planning services. And our superb location makes it easy for you to explore famous Ottawa attractions, including Rideau Canal and the National Gallery of Canada. For a restorative stay here in Ontario, choose the Ottawa Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ottawa Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ottawa
Ottawa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottawa Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.