We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good night sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ottawa East

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Ottawa East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ottawa East
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1252 Michael Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #58 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good night sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The room was good, shower nice, new lcds now, it is a bit pricey for the hotel. convenient with the mall nearby,
The hotel hallways are worn down, carpet needs cleaning, staff are friendly.
breakfast is ok, just a simple selection in the morning.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn302GeneralManager, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you appreciated some of the recent amenity improvements we have made and in regards to the hallways and carpeting our ownership is in the process of addressing this issue. We hope to see improvements over the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    6
    18
    12
See reviews for
9
14
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Arrived late Saturday afternoon, and it was HOT, but the room was cool and I think it has the best A/C of any room I've ever stayed in. Ground floor as requested. I found the gentleman at the desk kind of quiet, didn't even get up to serve us until he needed our credit card. But the room was very clean and seemed to be in very good condition. Also, for being near the lobby, it was quiet.
The lady that did the continental breakfast on Sunday morning, was very friendly, helpful and just seemed like someone you would talk to. As I left the area with our coffee/food, another housekeeping staff ran to open the door for me. Can't say enough great things about this stay. I use the Choice Hotels group all the time, and this even outdid the Quality Suites in Toronto.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn302GeneralManager, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are delighted to read about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Ottawa East and are pleased you plan to use us during future visits to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Staff were excellent and friendly. The room was good - clean and the High Speed Interenet worked. As a smoker I was pleased that they could welcome me to their facility. The breakfast was OK and there was an unlimited supply of coffee.

The only complaint I had was a cigarette burn in the bed comforter which was from a previous guest. Cleaning staff never replaced the comforter despite three reminders to the front desk.

Location was a wee bit difficult to get to but that is typical of the Ottawa layout. I certainly would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn302GeneralManager, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It is such a pleasure for us to hear about your experience at the Comfort Inn Ottawa East. The communication error between our Front Desk and Housekeeping Departments is being addressed to ensure future guests are not disappointed when making a request. Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Over the past 5 months, I have stayed at this hotel numerous times when traveling to Ottawa for business. Not only is it a great location for me, but the staff always treat me well. The hotel could use some upgrades, however I always feel like I am part of the family when I visit this hotel. Being on the road so much for work can be difficult at times, but I always enjoy returning to this hotel and being greated with true hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have patio doors so you can walk right out to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn302GeneralManager, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am happy to hear that you have been enjoying your experience staying with us.

We are continuously improving our hotel, and have recently renovated our bathrooms, installed flatscreen LCD televisions and have brand new beds.

I would be interested to hear your feedback with regards to your recommendation for upgrades, please stop by to see me when you stay with us again or you can contact me by telephone (613-744-2900) or email (cn302@whg.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Don't stay here the place is infested with Bed Bugs! They had the fumigators in yesterday and we killed 3 in our room.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn302GeneralManager, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we apologize for your negative experience at the Comfort Inn Ottawa East. Although we had an incident of bed bugs during your stay with us, as mentioned in your review we have taken extraordinary measures and not only fumigated the room in question, but also discarded the furniture within the room as a precautionary measure.

Bed Bugs are commonly known as hitchhikers, because they enter a hotel with an unknowing guest on their luggage or clothing. These "hitchhikers" can be picked up on an airplane, in a movie theatre or even a public library. Bed bugs are an unfortunate reality within the hotel industry in North America and worldwide, and have no relation with cleanliness of a property.

I can assure you and all future guests that we take this situation seriously, and in fact we had our third party pest management company inspect our entire hotel room by room to ensure it was an isolated incident. I am happy to confirm that there are no longer any bed bugs at the Comfort Inn Ottawa East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Well...just over a year since I last reviewed this property. Again, moving from Ottawa to the Maritimes. Stayed here again because the only motel in the east of the city that allows pets.

Unlike the summer when we stayed, it seems more of a long-term motel now. Might just be the time of year. I can't blame the hotel for the other 'guests' but just felt like I was staying in a homeless shelter for the sketchy characters that were 'living' there. I was convinced that one lady was a prostitute and the other "neighbors" next to us looked like they were crack addicts. Again, I guess I can't blame the hotel for how these customers dress or seem....but on the other hand....perhaps screening of 'long term' guests is wise. I did see one family pull up and check out their room...and as fast pack up and leave...I am guessing they were not impressed and went someplace else. Which is going to end up being the case...less customers.

On the plus side, free continental breakfast. Could stay with two dogs. The green area for dogs was clean..no unpicked up messes. The staff were friendly and were mindful of tidying up outside of the property as well.

This motel served the purpose for us..travelling with pets..just needing a place to stay for a few days..but would not stay here if we didn't have the dogs.

Room Tip: Great if travelling with pets. Ask for a lower level room on the backside towards the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel was disgusting. Not only was the lobby dirty, the hallways smelled horrific and when we got into our room there was food all down the side of the bed skirt. They moved us to a different room only to have a dirty sink and tub. The breakfast was held in the dirty lobby which made us hesitant to even eat it. The only good thing was that it was located next to the highway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Ottawa East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ottawa East

Address: 1252 Michael Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ottawa East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn(R) hotel is ideally located within minutes of downtown, giving easy access to the University of Ottawa, National Arts Centre, Rideau Canal Skateway, Carleton University and Ottawa International Airport. All rooms at this Ottawa hotel have been renovated and are now 100% smoke free. We also have a new lobby and brakfast area which features "Your Morning Breakfast" which offers both cold and hot items including waffles, eggs, bacon or sausage. Breakfast is also included in the rate. Refrigerators and microwaves are in every room .Guests can choose from rooms with a queen bed and sofa sleeper or rooms with two double beds. Drive-up ground-floor rooms with patio doors are also available.This Comfort Inn offers many high-value amenities, including: - Free high-speed Internet access- Free local calls- Free weekday newspaper- Pet-friendly hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Ottawa East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ottawa East Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Ottawa East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.