We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't stay here again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Hotel
Save
You added Swiss Hotel to your Saves list
89 Daly Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Deal Romantic Escape
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“won't stay here again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here in March for business for three nights. Our taxi driver did not believe that this hotel existed, so asked us to call the hotel - we did, and the woman who answered was a bit hostile on the phone to give us the address. Turns out her hostility was directed to the cab driver, when we arrived, she came running out the front door to scream at the driver, which was most uncomfortable, and not welcoming in anyway. We stayed in the larger room, which by North American standards was really small - but we were totally ok with that. What we didn't see after the frenzied arrival was that you have to book your breakfast the night before. When we arrived the next morning for breakfast and didn't have a reservation, and the breakfast room was wide open and not busy - the woman was rather rude about not accommodating us. We sat there and had a coffee while we waited for our team to assemble, and then out of no where, she shows up with breakfast, which we did not order - truly odd. We didn't particularly care for the location, and wished we were further south. We can't see staying here again. That said, the rooms are just fine, very european style. We just had a very odd interaction with the owner/staff because of her anger over not being known by the cab driver.

Room Tip: get the room with the fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    87
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
105
40
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corner Brook, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have stayed in lots of hotels and this is my favourite, It is very close to downtown and the market, but on a quiet tree-lined street. Wonderful flowers in the window boxes and the courtyard where you can have an amazing breakfast, feels like heaven. Try the home-made meusli! The rates are reasonable and the rooms very modern, excellent clean design. Fabulous sheets! The best sleep, especially because the windows open for a little fresh air in the evenings. And the service was really warm and friendly. I felt everyone sincerely wanted me to have a good stay and they took the time to make me feel welcome and well cared for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Daly Ave so you have lots of trees outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I attended a conference in Ottawa and was late to make a reservation and found all the large properties full. I found this hotel here on Trip Advisor, and with such great reviews I had to try it. They had a room available and I'm delighted we stayed here. The owners and the staff were incredibly friendly and made our stay so nice. We were only here overnight, but we arrived early and they had our room ready for us as requested. To say the mattresses are comfortable is an understatement. I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning it was so incredibly comfortable. Some previous reviews talked about "sketchy" people in the neighborhood. We didn't see any close to the hotel and we returned from dinner quite late at night. There are "sketchy" people in every big city. Proximity to everything was great. A 5 minute walk to Byward Market, great dining and pubs and a 15 minute walk to Parliament Hill. Very, very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Visited this hotel, after reading reviews on trip advisor.

Useful info (I didn't see it in other reviews before leaving), even if the small parking near the hotel is full, there also only a block away, another paid parking available.

In our case, we parked near the hotel with no issues.

Be aware that the bathroom is really small, really.

Other than that, this is a great location and a lot better service than in the Days Inn we stayed previously in Ottawa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Sabine jus makes unique the experience of Swiss Hotel. The rooms are superclean and confortable. The beds are great. And the best comes in the morning, with a delicious, complete and home-made breakfast. Excelent choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were greeted with the friendliest smile and complete knowledge of everything in the area. She had us excited we just arrived. We were there for winterlude but because of the warm weather most things closed. It didn't matter because the hotel is within walking distance of everything. And when done we cuddled up with the fire going in the room and a glass of wine. Which was also picked up from the massive LCBO down the street with a great vintage selection. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

1) Location, Location, Location-5 blocks to Fairmont Chateau Laurier which is the center of the action. Walk from Cumberland to Rideau St. and then down to the Chateau which is on the Rideau Canal, or 2 blocks before you get there, make a right into the Byward Market (Over 120 restaurants and quaint shops) for more fun action. IF you instead walk down Daly Ave., indeed, as others have posted, you may run into rif raf; no biggee. There was a button on the room phones for you to call a taxi and they were there in 5-10 mins max!

2) The hotel has a B&B feel and the hostess, Sabina, is incredibly friendly and accommodating. There are some ala carte offerings such as parking $12/d & breakfast $15/d, but we opted out of both; besides, have you seen how modern hotels are ripping people off these days with extra hidden mandatory "resort fees?" It is true that there is no elevator so beware that you'll need to haul your luggage potentially up 3 flights of stairs. Do it once on the way in and once on the way out and your done. Get some exercise or go find a nice Canadian kid who will do it for you. I do wish they had a microwave for late night popcorn, but apparently they don't have those in Swiss Chalets so I was ok with that.

3) We purposely chose the 3rd (top) floor so we wouldn't have anybody walking "on top" of us. Our room was quiet and though the hotel was full, we never heard anyone else while we were in the room. The place is tucked into a residential street and we did not hear any traffic in the room either. Nothing special with the view, but pleasant.

4) The room was recently redecorated clean, comfortable and lovely. I concur with another poster who said, "The room was small in its horizontal dimensions but it did have high ceilings making it feel more roomy." Interesting that the only real storage space was a small trunk in our closet; I think that is the only thing I would recommend be changed so you don't have to live out of your suitcase or with clothes strewn about on end tables or window sills. Each room has an iPad and an approximate 42" flat screen TV with plenty of channels. The FREE WiFi was strong and easy to connect with. The bed was a Queen and very nice.

5) The bathroom was AMAZING! The sink & vanity was all made from one piece of glass and the faucet hardware was a farmer-trough-like with the water flowing open on the top; loved it! But then that did not bring me as much pleasure as the with ceiling rain-forest walk in shower which had both excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water!

Room Tip: Their web sites shows you all the different options. We chose top floor for less chance of people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 89 Daly Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiss Hotel is ideally located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. This European-style boutique hotel has modern flair and offers its clients a warm, cozy and intimate accommodation experience with friendly service in a quiet, stress free environment. Each of the 22 rooms has private bathroom, A/C, European style white bedding that is 100% cotton with plush duvets, hardwood floors, free hi-speed wifi internet, an iPad and a Nespresso coffee machine in every room. For business or pleasure, choose from standard, superior, deluxe rooms with a fireplace or our romantic getaway suite with a double Jacuzzi. The hotel offers an optional healthy Swiss buffet breakfast, as well as opportunities for small meetings. The hotel also has a pretty courtyard garden patio for relaxation - a true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.