We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Little Hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Hotel
Save
You added Swiss Hotel to your Saves list
89 Daly Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Deals Romantic Escape
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Little Hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at the Swiss Hotel for two nights over Canada Day and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and the room was compact, but clean and had everything you would need. I think the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!! There is a private patio out back where you are feel to sit and enjoy a glass of wine or whatever you like, which we did. Very nice ... The building that houses the hotel is over 100 years old and is very quaint . The rooms have been recently renovated and are tastefully done. The hotel is located very near to Parliament Hill and the Byward Market as well as other tourist attractions . We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go . Overall we had a wonderful experience at the Swiss Hotel and would certainly stay here again when we return to Ottawa. One thing to be aware of is that the hotel does not have elevators, so if stairs are an issue for you request something on the ground floor .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    83
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
101
38
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I was staying at another hotel but did not like the room there so booked a room at the Swiss Hotel on the internet at 8 pm for the next night. Unfortunately, i was mistakenly charged for 2 nights (both the night I booked for & the night before). When i went to check in the next day at 5pm , the owner (a very very nice lady) asked where i had been as they had waited until 1 am the night before for me to arrive. Someho, they had thought that when i had book the room at 8 pm that i wanted a room for that night as well as the next night.

So because i had not received an e-mail confirmation at the time of the online booking (i received a e-mail confirmation after arriving the next day), i had no evidence to prove that i had not booked for the night before. As the owner is a very nice lady, possibly i had made an error when booking. So the owner gave me a 50% discount for the one night. So the lesson is to book by phone (not by the internet.
In a minor manner, the hotel advertises having High definition television. It is true the TVs' are HD capable but the hotel does not subscribe to the HD channels offered by the cable provider. So, the Hotel does not have HDTV. This seems like a minor point, but one of the reasons i booked the hotel was to watch game 7 of the stanley cup final in HD (as i am from Vancouver).
But aside from the above, the hotel is very nice.. a real charmer.. hardwood floors, rain forest showers, heritage building. The location is great... yes there are a few youth hostels around but the area is close the byward market, liquor & grocery store.
My rating is reduced to 3 stars because of the booking problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear KountCristo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our establishment. Allow me to respond to each one of your points individually.
We have a direct booking system with instant availability, rates and confirmation. All reservations are live, 24/7. That means once a reservation has been made, our system automatically sends a confirmation email to the guest's inbox with details of the reservation. For this reason, we are not able to say why your confirmation email was not received - it may have been overlooked or sent to a spam folder.
As for your comment about the High Definition Television (HDTV), you are perfectly right. We do have flat screen televisions with HD capability, but do not subscribe to HDTV. Our apologies. We have amended our website accordingly.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel. We have recently renovated to modernize our 1872 heritage building and make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible.

We hope to have you stay with us again,

All the best,

Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Was in Ottawa for then entire week and I loved every night of it. Very unassuming propertie but extremely friendly. Breakfast was prepared by the owner/chef/front desk staff and her heart went into everything. Absolutely loved it and will definitely will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

This hotel is very close to downtown. 100m to the main street. It was renovated last year so the rooms and bathrooms have modern decor with very comfortable beds and a great showerhead. Each room has an Ipad and free internet. Very affordable for the location especially compared to chain hotels nearby.
The owner and all staff were absolutely lovely, very friendly and helpful. The optional Swiss Buffet breakfast was delicious especially very good coffee and eggs cooked to order, the scrambled eggs are great and traditional bircher museli.
Be aware there are steep stairs up to the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Once again, the Swiss Hotel near the University of Ottawa was a standout! Fresh espresso every morning, full breakfast, ease to walk where ever I needed to go, This time I got a room with a fireplace and for the winter it was wonderful. I've stayed at the Lord Elgin, but this is the one I'll keep coming back to! Thoughtful hosts. Private without being faceless. Great bedding, European design, ipads (wi-fi if you've brought your own computer). A couple blocks from Byward Market food and art scene. Quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

They got my attention with the iPad and I was very happy with my stay I'm the end. The room was cosey and comfortable. Cool design. The breakfast was fantastic. And sabina was lovely. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Spent 3 nights here and was very comfortable. The place has been well thought out with some excellent finishing touches. Only let down is paper thin walls and being able to hear everyone else go about their business. Despite that though, I would stay here again, the advantages outweigh that.
Location couldn't have been better. 5 minutes walk to Byward market area and a wealth of shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 89 Daly Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern European design with late 19th century Canadian architecture, Swiss Hotel is the perfect marriage of the traditional and the new. Whether you're coming to town for business or pleasure, the Swiss Hotel is the best choice for any trip to Ottawa. Optional European buffet breakfast available for $15 per person. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance to all major tourist attractions, only steps from the Ottawa Convention Centre, University of Ottawa, ByWard Market, Parliament Hill, National Gallery of Canada and of course, the Rideau Canal (enjoy Winterlude this winter!) Wilderness is at our door in Gatineau, come see the seasons change with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.